SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1859

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending Coach Roy Williams.

WHEREAS, Former University of Kansas basketball coach Roy Williams has left the university to return to his home state of North Carolina to assume the position of head basketball coach at his alma mater, the University of North Carolina; and

WHEREAS, The people of Kansas regard Roy Williams as a man of outstanding character and as among the finest college basketball coaches in the nation; and

WHEREAS, Roy Williams has continued the storied tradition of excellence in the sport of basketball at Kansas University, a tradition established by Dr. James Naismith, inventor of the game, Dr. Forrest C. "Phog" Allen, who won a national championship in 1952, Dick Harp, Ted Owens and Larry Brown, who won a national championship in 1988; and

WHEREAS, Roy Williams has brought great pride to Kansas University and our state with the success the program has achieved under his leadership for the past 15 years; and

WHEREAS, Coach Williams developed his love for the game as an outstanding high school player at T. C. Robertson High School in Asheville, North Carolina, where he earned all county and all state honors in basketball in both his junior and senior years, and upon graduation enrolled at North Carolina University where he earned bachelor's and master's degrees in education; and

WHEREAS, Upon graduation he successfully coached basketball at Swannanoe Owen High School for five years before returning to the University of North Carolina as an assistant coach under the legendary North Carolina coach and Kansas University graduate, Dean Smith; and

WHEREAS, In 1988 Roy Williams became the head basketball coach at the University of Kansas, with a strong recommendation by Coach Smith, and where his teams won 418 games while losing just 101, a winning percentage of 80.5%; and

WHEREAS, Coach Williams' teams averaged 27 wins per season, were conference champions nine times, went to the NCAA tournament for 14 consecutive years, were in the Sweet Sixteen round seven times, the Final Four four times and the championship game in 1991 and 2003; and

WHEREAS, Roy Williams was the Big Eight Coach of the Year in 1990, 1992 and 1997, served on the board of directors of the National Association of Basketball Coaches for 11 years, was on the NCAA basketball rules committee for six years, was the head coach of the 1993 USA Under Twenty Two team, was an assistant coach for the 1991 USA World University Games team and the 1992 USA Basketball Olympic Development team; and

WHEREAS, Roy Williams and his wife Wanda, their son Scott and daughter Kimberly have been proud Kansans for the past 15 years: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we thank Roy Williams for his years of service to Kansas University and the state of Kansas. We congratulate him on his new position and thank him for the years he was with us and the pride he brought us. His many friends will remember the student athletes he recruited, the thrilling victories and the hard to take defeats. We know he will remember the university, Allen Field House and the students and fans who admired him so greatly. Best wishes Roy; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to send an enrolled copy of this resolution to Roy Williams, Head Basketball Coach, Department of Athletics, University of North Carolina, P.O. Box 2126, Chapel Hill, NC 27515; Coach Dean E. Smith, Department of Athletics, University of North Carolina, P.O. Box 2126, Chapel Hill, NC 27515; Dr. Robert Hemenway, Chancellor, University of Kansas, 230 Strong Hall, University of Kansas, Lawrence, KS 66045-0000 and Dr. James Moeser, Chancellor, University of North Carolina, 103 South Building, Campus Box 9100, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-9100.

Senate Resolution No. 1859 was sponsored by Senators Bunten, Adkins, Allen, Barnett, Barone, Brownlee, Brungardt, Buhler, Clark, Corbin, Donovan, Downey, Emler, Feleciano, Gilstrap, Gooch, Goodwin, Haley, Harrington, Hensley, Huelskamp, Jackson, Jordan, Kerr, Lee, Lyon, Morris, O'Connor, Oleen, Pugh, Salmans, Schmidt, Schodorf, Steineger, Taddiken, Teichman, Tyson, Umbarger, Vratil and Wagle.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.