SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1857

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Spring Hill High School girls basketball team and Coach Bernie Smith for winning the 2003 Class 4A State Basketball Championship.

WHEREAS, The Spring Hill High School girls basketball team won the 2003 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 4A State Basketball Championship with a thrilling 56 to 45 victory over Hayden High School in the state championship game at the Bicentennial Center in Salina on March 15; and

WHEREAS, The Spring Hill High School "Broncos" basketball team finished the season with a record of 24 wins and 2 losses and the school's first state championship. In the first round of tournament competition the team defeated the defending state champion Andale High School team 71 to 59. They then defeated the top seeded Iola High School team 56 to 43 to advance to the championship game; and

WHEREAS, The heart of this team was the senior girls who have been playing together since the eighth grade. They have been recognized as a talented group not only in Spring Hill but throughout the Frontier League. During their high school years this group has won three league championships and three substate titles in addition to this year's state championship. The senior members of the team were Holly Gault, Josie Gehrt, Jessica Hocker, Charise Mellen, Tracy Newton, Chelsea Nipper, Amanda Smith and Megan Sullivan; other team members were Lacey Cunningham, Mallory Hammersmith, Patience Jackson, Nancy Odrowski, Lauren Sykes and Nichole Wessel. The team would have been even more amazing had they not lost two starters to injuries. Assisting head coach Bernie Smith were assistant coaches Clay Frigon and Alicia VonStein; and

WHEREAS, Jessica Hocker was named to the 1st team of all county, all metro, all league and all state teams, Lacy Cunningham was named as Freshman of the Year for Johnson County and Coach Bernie Smith was named all metro and all Johnson County Women's Coach of the Year; and

WHEREAS, The members of this outstanding basketball team have received statewide recognition for their fine sportsmanship and athletic abilities; and

WHEREAS, The success of this team was due to its excellent teamwork, strong competitive spirit and determination to win. The team also had the enthusiastic support of the school's administrators, the faculty, the students, the players' parents and many area citizens: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That the Spring Hill High School girls basketball team and Coach Smith be congratulated and commended for winning the 2003 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 4A State Basketball Championship; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to send 18 enrolled copies of this resolution to Dr. Wayne Burk, Principal, Spring Hill High School, 217th Street and Bronco Blvd., Spring Hill, KS 66083.

Senate Resolution No. 1857 was sponsored by Senator Karin Brownlee.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.