## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1856

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Washburn University womens basketball team for its success during the 2002-2003 basketball season and for being the MIAA champion.

WHEREAS, The Washburn University womens basketball team finished the 2002-2003 season with a record of 30 wins and 4 losses. The Washburn "Lady Blues" won the MIAA conference championship for the second time in school history with a 15 to 3 conference record and the MIAA tournament for the third time in school history. Additionally, the team won the South Central Regional title and finished the season ranked number 6 in WBCA national rankings after being number 4 during the

WHEREAS, The team roster consisted of the following players: Karen DeDonder, Rebekah Mueller, April Roadhouse, Carissa Goeglein, Kristy Chapman, Jill Heiman, Bethany McGraw, Ineke Ingram, Gosia Czarnecka, Alison Garrett, Erica Redman, Crystal Walker, Lora Westling, Dani Mc-Henry and Maggie Diehl; and

WHEREAS, Individual player accomplishments were as follows: Crystal Walker—named WBCA first team All-American; MIAA Most Valuable Player and MIAA Defensive Player of the Year; MIAA Tournament Most Valuable Player and South Central Regional Most Valuable Player:

Lora Westling—MIAA All-Tournament team;

Carissa Goeglein—All-South Central Regional Tournament team; and Kristy Chapman—All-South Central Regional Tournament team.

Additionally, Kristy Chapman, Maggie Diehl, Alison Garrett, Carissa Goeglein, Bethany McGraw, Crystal Walker and Lora Westling were named to the MIAA Commissioner's Academic Honor Roll; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Blues were coached by Head Coach Ron Mc-Henry and Assistant Coaches Lisa Curliss, Dustin Odum and Jodi Rausch: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That the Washburn University womens basketball team and Coach McHenry be congratulated and commended for its success during the 2002-2003 basketball season and for being the MIAA champion; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to send an enrolled copy of this resolution to Dr. Jerry B. Farley, President, Washburn University, 1700 College, Topeka, Kansas 66621.

Senate Resolution No. 1856 was sponsored by Senator David Jackson.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.