SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1855

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Washburn University mens basketball team and Coach Chipman for its success during the 2002-2003 basketball season and for being the MIAA champion.

WHEREAS, The Washburn University mens basketball team finished the 2002-2003 season with a record of 26 wins and 6 losses and with 15 wins and 3 losses during conference competition. The team won the MIAA championship, its 7th in the past 12 years. In tournament competition the team was among the final 32 teams in the NCAA Division II tournament having reached the finals of the MIAA tournament while competing in its 8th NCAA national tournament. The Ichabods were ranked number 17 in the final poll having been as high as number 6 during the season; and

WHEREAS, The team roster consisted of the following players: Jeremy Cunningham, Norton Edmonds, John Crider, Ryan Tomlins, Matt Ťinsleý, Troy Douglas, Gary Woodland, Jerad Head, Alan Batiste, Steve Bonner, J.P. Meitner, Steven Kinney, Manny Clifton and Ryan Murphy;

WHEREAS, Individual player accomplishments were as follows:

Ryan Murphy-first team All-MIAA, MIAA All-Tournament team and second team All Region; and

Manny Clifton—second team All-MIAA. Additionally, J.P. Meitner, Ryan Tomlins and Matt Tinsley were named to the MIAA Commissioner's Academic Honor Roll; and

WHEREAS, The Ichabods were coached by Head Coach Bob Chipman and Assistant Coaches Kerry Dickerson, Shannon Kruger and Matt Hundley: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That the Washburn University mens basketball team and Coach Chipman be congratulated and commended for its success during the 2002-2003 basketball season and for being the MIAA champion.

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to send an enrolled copy of this resolution to Dr. Jerry B. Farley, President, Washburn University, 1700 College, Topeka, Kansas 66621.

Senate Resolution No. 1855 was sponsored by Senator David Jackson.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.