## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1851

## A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Hays High School "We the People" team.

WHEREAS, In a rigorous competition held in Topeka on February 1, 2003, the Hays High School "We the People" team defeated six other Kansas high school teams to be the state champion and to have the privilege of representing Kansas in the national competition to be held in Washington, D.C. from April 25 to 29. The competition tested the team members' knowledge of the Constitution and the Bill of Rights; and

WHEREAS, The students are part of a growing network of schools using a program known as "We the People...the Citizen and the Constitution". This nationally acclaimed civic education program about the history and philosophy of the United States Constitution and the Bill of Rights is funded by the United States Department of Education by an act of Congress. The primary goal of the program is to promote civic competence and responsibility in America's youth; and

WHEREAS, Since the inception of the "We the People" program in 1987, more than 24 million students and 75 thousand educators have participated in this innovative course of study. The program enjoys the active participation of members of Congress, as well as support from professional, business and community organizations across the nation; and

WHEREAS, The 22 students on the team are anxious to represent Kansas in the very rigorous and prestigious national competition. The team members are Amy Befort, Daniel Bernasconi, Josh Blau, Mark Colwell, Katie Dreiling, Casey Herrman, Cole Hoosier, Katy Michaelis, Mylee Morin, Jessica Mortinger, Trenton Wilson, Stacy Ryan, Cherise Schaeffer, Shad Schreiner, Nathan Smith, Seth Toepfer, Tiffany Wong, Janell Elliott, Wendy Fossum, Megan Greer, Eli Parke and Paige Pfannenstiel; and their coach is Sue Boldra: Now, therefore,

*Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas:* That we congratulate and commend the state champion "We the People" team from Hays High School and wish them great success at the national competition; and

*Be it further resolved:* That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to provide 23 enrolled copies of this resolution to Sue Boldra, Hays High School, 2300 East 13th Street, Hays, Kansas 67601-2699.

Senate Resolution No. 1851 was sponsored by Senators Janis K. Lee and Larry D. Salmans.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.