SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1841

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2003 Kansas Master Teachers.

WHEREAS, Seven of the state's best teachers have been selected as Kansas Master Teachers for 2003. The seven will be honored on April 14 at the Memorial Union at Emporia State University, the sponsor of the program; and

WHEREAS, The 2003 Kansas Master Teachers are Tina Buck, Medicine Lodge Middle School; Matt Copeland, Washburn Rural High School of Topeka; Connie Jo Ferree, Emporia High School; Connie Healy, Stilwell Elementary School; Pamela Kilgariff, Liberty Middle School in Pratt; Barbara Tims, Lakeside Elementary School in Pittsburg and Carol Woydziak, Dodge City High School; and

WHEREAS, Since Emporia State University established the Kansas Master Teacher Awards in 1954, more than 400 educators have been honored. The awards are presented annually to teachers described as having "served the profession long and well and who also typify the good qualities of earnest and conscientious teachers"; and

WHEREAS, Local teacher associations, educational organizations and school faculties nominate candidates for the awards. A committee representing educational organizations from across Kansas selected the 2003 winners: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the seven 2003 Kansas Master Teachers for their excellence in their profession and devotion to the children of Kansas; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to provide an enrolled copy of this resolution to Tina Buck, 100 E. First, Medicine Lodge, Kansas 67104-1357; Matt Copeland, 5900 S.W. 61st, Topeka, Kansas 66619-9404; Connie Jo Ferree, 3302 West 18th, Emporia, Kansas 66801-5998; Connie Healy, 6410 W. 199th Street, Stilwell, Kansas 66085-9415; Pamela Kilgariff, 300 S. Iuka, Pratt, Kansas 67124-2597; Barbara Tims, 709 S. College, Pittsburg, Kansas 66762-5097 and Carol Woydziak, 2201 Ross Blvd., Dodge City, Kansas 67801.

Senate Resolution No. 1841 was sponsored by Senators Barnett, Adkins, Allen, Barone, Brownlee, Brungardt, Buhler, Bunten, Clark, Corbin, Donovan, Downey, Emler, Feleciano, Gilstrap, Gooch, Goodwin, Haley, Harrington, Hensley, Huelskamp, Jackson, Jordan, Kerr, Lee, Lyon, Morris, O'Connor, Oleen, Pugh, Salmans, Schmidt, Schodorf, Steineger, Taddiken, Teichman, Tyson, Umbarger, Vratil and Wagle.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE,

and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.