SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1833

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Hanston High School football team and Coach Jerry Slaton for winning the 2002 Eight-man Division II State Football Championship.

WHEREAS, The Hanston High School football team won the 2002 Kansas State High School Activities Association Eight-man Division II State Football Championship with a thrilling 38-12 victory over Hope High School in the state championship game; and

WHEREAS, The Hanston High School "Elks" football team finished the season with a record of 12 wins to 0 losses with nine games being called because of the 45 point mercy rule; and

WHEREAS, The members of the team were Andy Thayer, Phillip Broz, Adam Hann, Simeon Seiler, Zach Lee, Levi Salmans, Ross Bauer, Josh Holmes, Bret Wilkens, Eric Dvorak, Ben Wilkens, Gilbert Thayer, James Granger, Seth Seiler, Chris Hahn, Paul Gilliland, Josh Hubin, Joe Dvorak, Joey Frusher, Dan Burke, Justin Lupfer, Jeremiah Meeks, Dwayne Doyle, Austin Rogers, Austin Cisneros, Cody Howe and Zack Anderson. The head coach was Jerry Slaton, the assistant coaches were Oliver Salmans and Travis Torkelson, and the managers were Chad Aistrup, Brent Pettay and Darren Rogers. Hanston teams have won five state football championships. During the past five years the team had a 60-2 record, played in the state championship game every year and won the championship three times during this time; and

WHEREAS, Coach Jerry Slaton has coached the football team for 27 seasons and has an overall win to loss record of 209-72 (74%); in addition to five state championships, his teams have won 11 Santa Fe Trail League Championships, 16 district championships, 12 bi-district championships, 8 regional championships and 7 sub-state championships; and

WHEREAS, The members of this outstanding team have received statewide recognition for their fine sportsmanship and athletic abilities; and

WHEREAS, The success of this team is due to its excellent teamwork, strong competitive spirit and determination to win plus the enthusiastic support of the school's administrators, the faculty, the students, the players' parents and many area citizens: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That the Hanston High School football team and Coach Jerry Slaton be congratulated and commended for winning the 2002 Kansas State High School Activities Association Eight-man Division II State Football Championship; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to send five enrolled copies of this resolution to Jerry Slaton, Football Coach, Hanston High School, 203 N. West St., P.O. Box 219, Hanston, Kansas 67849-0219.

Senate Resolution No. 1833 was sponsored by Senator Larry D. Salmans.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.