## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1817

## A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending Cheris Bass and Jim Medina as 2002 Milken Family Foundation National Education Award recipients.

WHEREAS, Cheris Bass, a fourth grade teacher at Edwardsville Elementary School, and Mark James "Jim" Medina, an elementary classroom teacher at Havencroft Elementary School in Olathe, have been selected to receive Milken Family Foundation National Educator Awards; the awards include an unrestricted grant of \$25,000 plus being honorees at the foundation's national education conference; and

WHEREAS, The Milken Family Foundation National Educator Awards were established in the early 1980's to address the crisis in American education by rewarding educators' achievements, enhancing their resources and advancing their professional interests. The awards provide public recognition and financial rewards to elementary and secondary school teachers. Originating in California, the program has grown to include 46 states, and, including the 2002 recipients, has benefited nearly 19,000 outstanding educators; and

WHEREAS, Cheris Bass, who has a bachelor of science degree in elementary education from Saint Mary College and a master of science degree in learning disabilities from the University of Kansas, has been teaching at Edwardsville Elementary School since 1994. Her excellence in her profession has caused her to receive a Target Teacher's Scholarship, 1998-1999; selection as the Outstanding Teacher of the Year for Unified School District 204, 1999-2000; and district nominee for Kansas Teacher of the Year, 2002. She was an Educate America 2000 Subgrant Writer recipient and administrator of the funding for "Project Connections" and the district recipient of an Action Research Award for "Class Wide Peer Tutoring, Does it Work?" for 1999-2000. Her students are excited about learning and are always engaged in whatever activity is happening in the classroom; and

WHEREAS, Jim Medina, who has two bachelor of science degrees plus a master of arts degree, has been a teacher at Havencroft Elementary School for 13 years. Known as a skilled teacher who involves all of his students in the subject at hand, he has been honored by his peers by being named to and attending the District Leadership Academy, 1998-1999; named Havencroft Master Teacher, 2000-2001; selected as the Olathe District Elementary Teacher of the Year, 2001-2002; qualified as a Kansas Teacher of the Year-Region 3 semi-finalist, 2001-2002; and as a member on the Havencroft Building Level Team. He is one of the few teachers who have completed an application for National Teacher Certification. He is described as exemplifying those qualities and characteristics by which we would want our own children taught: Now, therefore,

*Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas:* That we congratulate and commend Cheris Bass and Jim Medina for being selected to receive Milken Family Foundation National Educator Awards; and

*Be it further resolved:* That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to provide five enrolled copies of this resolution to Dr. Robert J. Van Maren, Superintendent, Bonner Springs USD 204, P.O. Box 435, Bonner Springs, KS 66012-0435 for presentation to Cheris Bass and five enrolled copies of this resolution to Dr. Ron Wimmer, Superintendent, Olathe USD 233, 14160 Black Bob Road, Olathe, KS 66063-2000 for presentation to Jim Medina.

Senate Resolution No. 1817 was sponsored by Senators Steineger and Brownlee, Adkins, Allen, Barnett, Barone, Brungardt, Buhler, Bunten, Clark, Corbin, Donovan, Downey, Emler, Feleciano, Gilstrap, Gooch, Goodwin, Haley, Harrington, Hensley, Huelskamp, Jackson, Jordan, Kerr, Lee, Lyon, Morris, O'Connor, Oleen, Pugh, Salmans, Schmidt, Schodorf, Taddiken, Teichman, Tyson, Umbarger, Vratil and Wagle.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.