SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1804

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2003 Kansas Teachers of the Year.

WHEREAS, The Kansas Teacher of the Year program is sponsored by the Kansas State Department of Education to identify and recognize excellent teachers in the elementary and secondary schools of the state. The designated Kansas Teacher of the Year and Regional Teachers of the Year serve as ambassadors for education in Kansas, making public appearances across the state; and

WHEREAS, Each school district may nominate one elementary teacher and one secondary classroom teacher for Kansas Teacher of the Year. Nominees must be full-time teachers in any state approved or accredited school. The Kansas State Department of Education appoints regional selection committees, which regions correspond to the state's four congressional districts, to select one elementary and one secondary teacher as regional finalists. A state selection committee selects the Kansas Teacher of the Year from among the eight regional finalists; and

WHEREAS, Regional finalists were announced and honored during September, 2002, and the selection of the state teacher of the year was announced at the state awards banquet held on November 16, 2002. The 12th annual Legislative Recognition Day is scheduled for January 21, 2003, when the honorees will appear before the senate and house education committees; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Teacher of the Year, plus the regional finalists, will make many public appearances in support of our educational system during the forthcoming year and will receive certain cash awards plus other honorariums in recognition of their selection as embodying the best in public education; and

WHEREAS, The 2003 Kansas Teacher of the Year is Ruth Ann Gharst, who teaches at Cedar Creek Elementary School at Olathe; and the 2003 Regional Teachers of the Year are: Juliann Bliese, who teaches at O'Loughlin Elementary School at Hays; Barbara Fowler, who teaches at Emporia Middle School at Emporia; Nils Gabrielson, who teaches at Pray-Woodman Elementary School at Maize; Trey Harrison, who teaches at El Dorado High School at El Dorado; Jada Kohlmeier, who teaches at Mill Valley High School at Shawnee; Diane M. Liebsch, who teaches at Atchison Middle School at Atchison and Pamela A. Tipton, who teaches at Seaman High School at Topeka: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend these teachers for being selected as the 2003 Kansas Teacher of the Year and as the 2003 Regional Teachers of the Year; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide 17 enrolled copies of this resolution to Dr. Andy Tompkins, Commissioner of Education, 120 SE 10th Avenue, Topeka, KS 66612 for further delivery of a copy of this resolution to each of the superintendents and teachers involved.

Senate Resolution No. 1804 was sponsored by Senators Oleen, Barnett, Corbin, Harrington, Jackson, Jordan, Lee, O'Connor, Pugh, Salmans and Schodorf.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.