## SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION No. 1613

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION urging the International Speedway Corporation to enter into an agreement with the Kansas Speedway Corporation to allow an additional NASCAR Winston Cup race date.

WHEREAS, Since 1999 the Kansas Speedway Corporation, in partnership with state and local governments, established the Kansas Speedway, a state-of-the-art auto racing facility in Kansas City; and

WHEREAS, Racing commenced in 2001 and has provided sold-out attendance for each year; and

WHEREAS, In 2003 the Kansas Speedway expanded its grandstand capacity to  $80,\!187;$  and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Speedway provided the impetus for creating Village West, an economic district in Wyandotte County; and

WHEREAS, Village West will have more than \$380 million in total investment and ultimately provide sales of more than \$440 million; and

WHEREAS, Village West will create an estimated 3,300 jobs and more than \$10 million in property taxes and \$26 million in sales tax revenue annually; and

WHEREAS, For each NASCAR Winston Cup race date an estimated \$75 million in tourism dollars is generated; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Speedway is being considered for an additional NASCAR Winston Cup date; and  $\,$ 

WHEREAS, The Kansas Speedway Corporation, in partnership with the State of Kansas and the Unified Government of Wyandotte County, is preparing a proposal requesting an additional NASCAR Winston Cup race date: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas, the House of Representatives concurring therein: That the International Speedway Corporation be urged to grant the Kansas Speedway an additional NASCAR Winston Cup race date; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send enrolled copies of this resolution to the Governor of the State of Kansas, the Mayor of the Unified Government of Wyandotte County and to the President of the International Speedway Corporation.

I hereby certify that the above Concurrent Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.
Adopted by the House	
1 ,	
	Speaker of the House.
	Chief Clerk of the House.