1

2

3

7

8 9

15

16

17

18

10

25

33

34

42 43

Substitute for SENATE BILL No. 378

By Committee on Reapportionment

2 - 18

AN ACT concerning congressional districts; providing for the redistricting thereof; repealing K.S.A. 4-128, 4-133 and 4-135.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

- Section 1. (a) As used in sections 1 through 7, and amendments thereto, "voting district," "tract," "block group" or "block" means, respectively, a voting district (VTD), tract, block group or block identified on the official United States 2000 decennial census maps.
- (b) Voting districts, tracts, block groups and blocks are referred to in sections 1 through 7, and amendments thereto, by the alphanumeric code by which they are identified on the official United States 2000 decennial census maps and data lists.
- (c) The boundaries of counties, voting districts, tracts, block groups and blocks referred to in sections 1 through 7, and amendments thereto, are those boundaries as they exist and are identified on the official United States 2000 decennial census maps.
- Sec. 2. (a) If a county, voting district, tract, block group or block is not included within a congressional district established by this act, such county, voting district, tract, block group or block shall be attached to the congressional district to which it is contiguous and, if contiguous to more than one congressional district, it shall be attached to the contiguous congressional district which has the least total population.
- (b) If a county, voting district, tract, block group or block is included in two or more congressional districts established by this act, such county, voting district, tract, block group or block shall be attached to and become a part of the congressional district which has the least total population.
- Sec. 3. The provisions of this act shall not affect the term of any representative to congress elected to represent a district at the general election of 2000 or the term of any successor elected to succeed such representative for an unexpired term, and all such representatives shall continue to serve the districts from which elected until the representatives elected from the congressional districts established by this act commence their terms of office in January, 2003.
- Sec. 4. Congressional district 1 shall consist of all of Atchison county; and all of Barber county; and all of Barton county; and all of Brown

38

39 40

41

42

43

2

county; and all of Chase county; and all of Chevenne county; and all of Clark county; and all of Clay county; and all of Cloud county; and the 3 following voting districts in Coffey county: (000070), (000100), (000120), (000130); and all of Comanche county; and all of Decatur county; and all 4 of Dickinson county; and all of Doniphan county; and all of Edwards 5 county; and all of Ellis county; and all of Ellsworth county; and all of 6 7 Finney county; and all of Ford county; and all of Gove county; and all of Graham county; and all of Grant county; and all of Gray county; and all 8 9 of Greeley county; and all of Hamilton county; and all of Haskell county; 10 and all of Hodgeman county; and the following voting districts in Jackson 11 county: (00008B), (000120), (000140), (000160), (000180); and all of Jew-12 ell county; and all of Kearny county; and all of Kiowa county; and all of 13 Lane county; and all of Lincoln county; and all of Logan county; and all 14 of Lyon county; and the following voting districts in Marion county: 15 (000010), (000030), (000040), (000050), (000060), (000080), (000130), (000140), (000150), (00016A), (00016B), (00016C), (000180), (000190), 16 17 (000200), (000210), (00022A), (00022B), (000230), (000250), (000280), 18 (000310); and the following voting districts in Marshall county: (000010), 19 (000020), (000030), (000040), (000050), (000070), (000080), (000090),20 (000100), (000110), (000120), (000130), (000140), (000150), (000160),21 (00017A), (00017B), (00018A), (00018B), (00019A), (00019B), (00019C), 22 (000200), (000210), (000220), (000230), (000240), (000250), (000260), 23 (000270), (000280), (000290), (000300); and all of Meade county; and all 24 of Mitchell county; and all of Morris county; and all of Morton county; 25 and all of Nemaha county; and all of Ness county; and all of Norton 26 county; and all of Osage county; and all of Osborne county; and all of 27 Ottawa county; and all of Pawnee county; and all of Phillips county; and all of Pratt county; and all of Rawlins county; and all of Reno county; and 28 29 all of Republic county; and all of Rice county; and all of Rooks county; 30 and all of Rush county; and all of Russell county; and all of Saline county; 31 and all of Scott county; and all of Seward county; and all of Sheridan 32 county; and all of Sherman county; and all of Smith county; and all of 33 Stafford county; and all of Stanton county; and all of Stevens county; and 34 all of Thomas county; and all of Trego county; and all of Wabaunsee 35 county; and all of Wallace county; and all of Washington county; and all 36 of Wichita county. 37

Sec. 5. Congressional district 2 shall consist of all of Allen county; and all of Anderson county; and the following voting districts in Bourbon county: (000190); and all of Cherokee county; and the following voting districts in Coffey county: (000010), (000020), (000030), (00004A), (00004B), (00005A), (00005B), (00005C), (000060), (000080), (000090), (000110), (000140), (000150), (000160), (000170); and all of Crawford county; and all of Douglas county; and all of Franklin county; and all of

Geary county; and the following voting districts in Jackson county:

(000010), (000020), (000030), (000040), (000050), (000060), (000070),(00008A), (000090), (00010A), (00010B), (000110), (000130), (000150), (000170); and all of Jefferson county; and all of Labette county; and the following voting districts in Leavenworth county: (000010), (000040), (000060), (000070), (000080), (000090), (000100), (000110), (000120),(000130), (000140), (000150), (000160), (00017A), (00017B), (00017C), (00017D), (00017E), (00017F), (00017G), (00017H), (00017I), (000180), (00019A), (00019B), (00019C), (000200), (000210), (000220), (000230), (000240), (000250), (000260), (00027A), (00027B), (000280), (00029A), (00029B), (00029C), (00029D), (000300), (000310), (000340), (000350), (000360), (000370), (000380), (000390); and the following voting districts in Marshall county: (000060); and all of Montgomery county; and all of Neosho county; and all of Pottawatomie county; and all of Riley county; and all of Shawnee county; and all of Wilson county; and all of Woodson county.

Sec. 6. Congressional district 3 shall consist of the following voting districts in Bourbon county: (000010), (00002A), (00002B), (00002C), (00002D), (00002E), (00002F), (00003A), (00003B), (000040), (00005A), (00005B), (00005C), (00005D), (000060), (000070), (000080), (000090), (000100), (000110), (000120), (000130), (000140), (000150), (000160), (000170), (000180); and all of Johnson county; and the following voting districts in Leavenworth county: (000020), (000030), (000050), (000320), (000330); and all of Linn county; and all of Miami county; and all of Wyandotte county.

Sec. 7. Congressional district 4 shall consist of all of Butler county; and all of Chautauqua county; and all of Cowley county; and all of Elk county; and all of Greenwood county; and all of Harper county; and all of Harvey county; and all of Kingman county; and all of McPherson county; and the following voting districts in Marion county: (000020), (000070), (000090), (000100), (00011A), (00011B), (000120), (000170), (000240), (000260), (000270), (000290), (000300); and all of Sedgwick county; and all of Sumner county.

- Sec. 8. K.S.A. 4-128, 4-133 and 4-135 are hereby repealed.
- Sec. 9. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its publication in the Kansas register.