SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1858

A RESOLUTION in memory of Earl M. Hemphill.

WHEREAS, Earl M. Hemphill, 61, of Russell and the Fire Chief for the city, died April 11 as a result of injuries sustained in the line of duty; and

WHEREAS, Chief Hemphill and other peace and fire officers were at the scene of an accident about seven miles north of Russell; while at the scene a second accident occurred involving a fire truck and a sheriff's vehicle. As a result of the second accident, Chief Hemphill sustained injuries which caused his death; and

WHEREAS, Chief Hemphill had served the Russell fire department for nearly 35 years, first as a volunteer, and for 19 years as the chief of the department; and

WHEREAS, Chief Hemphill took great pride in serving and doing his duty. He always wanted to be prepared for any kind of emergency situation, and he shared his knowledge with others. He placed great importance on having the best possible training for the department. He was more than the Fire Chief for Russell; he was a friend, a brother and father figure—a man who, when the job was done, always had time to have fun. The entire Russell community mourns his death; and

WHEREAS, Chief Hemphill graduated from Great Bend High School and served in the United States Navy from 1958 to 1962. He worked as an electrician for some time before becoming a fireman. He is survived by his wife, Eileen; two sons, Lawrence and James; a daughter, Audra, and six grandchildren: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we recognize the many years of dedicated service Earl M. Hemphill gave to the city of Russell and the state of Kansas and offer our deepest sympathy to his family and friends; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide five enrolled copies of this resolution to Mrs. Earl M. Hemphill at 603 South Main Street, Russell, Kansas 67665.

Senate Resolution No. 1858 was sponsored by Senator Janis K. Lee.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.