SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1849

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2002 Kansas Master Teachers.

WHEREAS, Seven of the state's best teachers have been selected as Kansas Master Teachers for 2002. The seven were honored on April 3 at a banquet held at the Memorial Union at Emporia State University, the sponsor of the program; and

WHEREAS, The 2002 Kansas Master Teachers are Bev Bertolone, Leawood; Barbara Fowler, Emporia; Sue Givens, Pratt; Christine Herald, Manhattan; Dee A. Moxley, Andover; Jan Prather, El Dorado; and Alexander M. Specht, Osawatomie; and

WHEREAS, Since Emporia State University established the Kansas Master Teacher Awards in 1954, more than 400 educators have been honored. The awards are presented annually to teachers described as having "served the profession long and well and who also typify the good qualities of earnest and conscientious teachers"; and

WHEREAS, Local teacher associations, educational organizations and school faculties nominate candidates for the awards. In February, a committee representing educational organizations from across Kansas selected the 2002 winners: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That the Senate congratulates and commends the seven 2002 Kansas Master Teachers for their excellence in their profession and devotion to the children of Kansas; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to send an enrolled copy of this resolution to Bev Bertolone, 2948 West 123rd Terrace, Leawood, Kansas 66209; Barbara Fowler, 14 South Barbie, Emporia, Kansas 66801; Sue Givens, 10111 Country Club Road, Pratt, Kansas 67124; Christine Herald, 1937 Bluestem Terrace, Manhattan, Kansas 66502; Dee A. Moxley, 253 Greenvalley Drive, Andover, Kansas 67002; Jan Prather, 1833 Ridge Road, El Dorado, Kansas 67042; and Alexander M. Specht, 1638 Brown Avenue, Osawatomie, Kansas 66064.

Senate Resolution No. 1849 was sponsored by Senators Barnett, Brownlee, Corbin, Oleen, Teichman, Tyson and Wagle.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was

adopted by that body	
	_
	 President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.