## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1841

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Seward County Community College women's basketball team and Coach Jim Littell for winning the 2002 National Junior College Athletic Association Division I women's national championship.

WHEREAS, The Seward County Community College women's basketball team won the 2002 National Junior College Athletic Association Division I women's national championship with a thrilling 87 to 80 victory over Northeastern Oklahoma A&M in the national championship game at the Bicentennial Center in Salina on Saturday, March 23; and

WHEREAS, The Seward County "Lady Saints" basketball team finished the season with a record of 38 wins and 0 losses. The victory gave the team its first national championship after posting a record of 104 wins to two losses over the past three seasons. This year's team won all of its Jayhawk West conference games, and defeated Cloud County, Fort Scott, Butler County and Neosho opponents in the Region VI tournament. At the national tournament they defeated Northeastern Colorado, Moberly (Missouri) and Gulf Coast (Florida) before meeting and defeating Northeastern Oklahoma, the number one rated team, in the championship game; and

WHEREAS, The team members were Marta Dydek, Cami Jacobs, Stacie Bell, Emily Edmonds, Kim Ortega, Vaida Zagurskyte', Laci Rogers, Erica Hatterman, Anne Weese, Whitney Hoelting, Megan Clift, Cassie Cordell and Tracy Wynn; the student trainer was Leslie Gonzales and the student managers were Bobby Hadley and Kerri Hill; the head coach was Jim Littell and the assistant coach was Scott Hinkle; and

WHEREAS, The academic records at Seward County Community College show that all of the 14 women on the basketball team were on the fall honor roll with a team grade point average of 3.75 and with five women having perfect 4.00 grade point averages. Seven of the team members are native Kansans; and

WHEREAS, The members of this outstanding basketball team have received state-wide recognition for their fine sportsmanship and athletic abilities; and

WHEREAS, The success of this team was due to its excellent teamwork, strong competitive spirit and determination to win. The team also had the enthusiastic support of the college's administrators, the faculty, the students, the players' parents and many area citizens: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That the Seward County Community College women's basketball team and Coach Littell be congratulated and commended for winning the 2002 National Junior College Athletic Association Division I women's national championship; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to send 13 enrolled copies of this resolution to Dr. James R. Grote, President, Seward County Community College, P.O. Box 1137, Liberal, Kansas 67905-1137.

Senate Resolution No. 1841 was sponsored by Senators Stephen R. Morris and Tim Huelskamp.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.