## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1840

## A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Kansas State University women's basketball team.

WHEREAS, The Kansas State University women's basketball team finished its season with 26 wins and eight losses and with 11 wins to five losses in the Big 12 Conference. The Wildcats reached the Sweet Sixteen for the first time in 19 years when they beat Kent State 93 to 65 and Arkansas 82 to 68 in the first and second rounds of the National Collegiate Athletic Association tournament. Included in its Cinderella season, the 'Cats were ranked in the Associated Press and USA Today/ESPN Coaches Polls 10 times, including their highest ranking of No. 9 on January 28. Kansas State beat two Top 10 teams and five teams in the Top 15 this year; and

WHEREAS, The members of this team are Andrea Armstrong, Shalondra Booker, Chelsea Domenico, Amy Dutmer, Kari Hanson, Laurie Koehn, Brie Madden, Megan Mahoney, Kimmery Newsom, Nicole Ohlde, Kristin Rethman and Kendra Wecker. The head coach is Deb Patterson, the assistant head coach is Kamie Ethridge and the assistant coaches are Kristin Becker and Sue Serafini; and

WHEREAS, Nicole Ohlde was named to the All-Big 12 first team and Laurie Koehn and Kendra Wecker were named to the All-Big 12 third team. Nicole Ohlde, Kristin Rethman and Andrea Armstrong also were named to the Academic All-Big 12 first team; and

WHEREAS, Nicole Ohlde was honored as an Associated Press Honorable Mention All-American, Kodak District V All-American, a finalist for ESPN The Magazine Center of the Year, and Verizon Academic All-District selection. Laurie Koehn was honored as ESPN.com Rookie of the Year; and

WHEREAS, Head coach Deb Patterson was named the Big 12 Coach of the Year, ESPN The Magazine Coach of the Year, WBCA District V Coach of the Year and as a finalist for the Naismith and Associated Press Coach of the Year: Now, therefore,

*Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas:* That we congratulate and commend the Kansas State University women's basketball team and the team's coaches for their team and individual successes during the 2001-2002 basketball season; and

*Be it further resolved:* That the Secretary of the Senate provide 16 enrolled copies of this resolution to Dr. Jon Wefald, President, Kansas State University, Anderson Hall, Manhattan, Kansas 66506 for distribution to the players and coaches.

Senate Resolution No. 1840 was sponsored by Senators Oleen, Downey, Emler, Pugh, Taddiken, Adkins, Allen, Barnett, Barone, Brownlee, Brungardt, Clark, Corbin, Donovan, Feleciano, Gilstrap, Gooch, Goodwin, Haley, Harrington, Hensley, Huelskamp, Jackson, Jenkins, Jordan, Kerr, Lee, Lyon, Morris, O'Connor, Praeger, Salmans, Schmidt, Schodorf, Steineger, Teichman, Tyson, Umbarger, Vratil and Wagle.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.