SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1839

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Kansas Association of Retired School Personnel upon its 50th anniversary.

WHEREAS, The Kansas Association of Retired School Personnel, formerly known as the Kansas Retired Teachers Association, will be celebrating its 50th anniversary at its annual convention which is to be held June 13 and 14 in Pittsburg; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Association of Retired School Personnel welcomes all retired teachers, administrators, school personnel and support staff as members, as well as active educators and school system employees plus others interested in the objectives of the organization; and

WHEREAS, The association is affiliated with the National Retired Teachers Association. Its members join together to enhance the quality of life and to promote independence, dignity and purpose for its members. The association publishes THE MEADOWLARK, the association's state newsletter. Its motto is "To serve, not to be served"; and

WHEREAS, The association has been the voice of retired school personnel since 1952 and advocates for education, relevant societal issues and the needs of retirees. It maintains professional relationships and facilitates fellowship with colleagues. The organization is proud to serve Kansas communities through flexible, meaningful service projects which produce at least 360,000 volunteer hours annually. The Manhattan and Emporia units have won National Purpose of America Awards with their ongoing "With our Youth" projects: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That it congratulates and commends the Kansas Association of Retired School Personnel upon its 50th anniversary; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide an enrolled copy of this resolution to Carolyn Kuhn, 2040 West 12th, Emporia, Kansas 66801.

Senate Resolution No. 1839 was sponsored by Senators Jim Barone and Tim Huelskamp.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

 President of the Senate.
 Secretary of the Senate.