## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1833

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending Coach Loren Ziegler.

WHEREAS, Coach Loren Ziegler, the girls basketball coach at Silver Lake High School, coached the girls basketball team to a record of 25 wins and one loss in the 2001-2002 season. The team capped the season by winning the 2002 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 3A State Basketball Championship. The championship game, which was played at the Sports Arena in Hutchinson on March 9, ended with a thrilling 40 to 38 victory over Smith Center, but the issue was not decided in Silver Lake's favor until the final five seconds of the game; and

WHEREAS, Coach Ziegler, in 20 years of coaching at Silver Lake, has an overall record of 362 wins and 109 losses. He won back-to-back state championships in 1983 and 1984 and stated at that time he would never have a team that good again. Time and hard work proved him wrong. His teams won the state championship again in 1988 and in 2002, winning an entry for him in the record book of most state titles, a record which he shares with four other coaches. Overall his teams have been to the state tournament seven times, they have won four titles, placed second once and third once. Coach Ziegler was named the 2002 Coach of the Year by the Topeka Capital-Journal, an honor he has now received twice: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend Coach Ziegler for being named Coach of the Year, for his team's 2002 Class 3A State Championship and for 20 years of successful coaching at Silver Lake High School; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to send an enrolled copy of this resolution to Steve Pegram, Superintendent; Larry Winter, Principal; Jim Lindstrom, Athletic Director; and to Loren Ziegler, Head Girls Basketball Coach, all at Silver Lake High School, 200 East Lake, Silver Lake, Kansas 66539.

Senate Resolution No. 1833 was sponsored by Senator David D. Jackson.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

 President of the Senate.
 Secretary of the Senate.