Session of 2002

## 

TT...

## **House Concurrent Resolution No. 5039**

By Special Committee on Utilities

1-22

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION urging the Congress of the United States to reinstate and extend the federal tax credit for wind generation facilities.

WHEREAS, Wind is an abundant, clean source of energy which has little negative environmental impact and which, if developed, would decrease the nation's dependence on foreign oil, the importance of which is underscored by the events of September 11, 2001; and

WHEREAS, Studies show that Kansas has great wind energy potential, ranking as high as third among the states, but the state's wind energy resources are largely undeveloped as a source of generation; and

WHEREAS, The state's first wind farm, with 170 turbines, was constructed and brought on line in the year 2001 and tax incentives would encourage construction of additional wind generation facilities in the state; and

WHEREAS, The federal Energy Policy Act of 1992 provided a production tax credit for electric generation facilities that use wind energy but the credit was effective only through December 31, 2001, and has not been extended beyond that date; and

WHEREAS, The President's National Energy Policy calls for extension of the production tax credit for wind generation facilities: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Kansas, the Senate concurring therein: That the Legislature of the State of Kansas urges the Congress of the United States to reinstate and extend, retroactively from December 31, 2001, the production tax credit for facilities that use wind energy to generate electricity; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of State is directed to send enrolled copies of this resolution to the President of the United States, George W. Bush; Spencer Abraham, Secretary, U.S. Department of Energy, 1000 Independence Ave., S.W., Washington, D.C., 20585; Senator Tom Daschle, Majority Leader, U.S. Senate, Washington, D.C., 20510; Senator Trent Lott, Minority Leader, U.S. Senate, Washington, D.C., 20510; Representative J. Dennis Hastert, Speaker, U.S. House of Representatives, Washington, D.C., 20515; Representative Richard A. Ge-

HCR 5039

phardt, Minority Leader, U.S. House of Representatives, Washington, D.C., 20515; Senator Max Baucus, Chairperson, Committee on Finance, U.S. Senate, Washington, D.C., 20510; Senator Jeff Bingaman, Chair-person, Committee on Energy and Natural Resources, U.S. Senate, Washington, D.C., 20510; Representative Bill Thomas, Chairperson, Committee on Ways and Means, U.S. House of Representatives, Wash-ington, D.C., 20515; Representative W.J. Tauzin, Chairperson, Committee on Energy and Commerce, U.S. House of Representatives, Washing-ton, D.C., 20515; and each member of the Kansas Congressional Delegation.