Session of 2002 **House Concurrent Resolution No. 5038** By Special Committee on Utilities 1 - 22A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION urging the Government of the United States to take action to enable prompt approval, construction and operation of a high level radioactive waste disposal facility at Yucca Mountain, Nevada. WHEREAS, The Nuclear Waste Policy Act of 1982 directs the United States Department of Energy (DOE) to find a suitable site for a high level radioactive waste disposal facility and to construct and operate such facility upon licensure by the United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission; and WHEREAS, In 1987 Congress directed DOE to study Yucca Mountain, Nevada, to determine whether it is a suitable site for the location of a high level radioactive waste repository; and WHEREAS, The geological and hydrological characteristics of the Yucca Mountain site make it suitable for a nuclear waste repository that will keep waste isolated for thousands of years, posing no more risk of health effects to the public than unmined uranium ore; and WHEREAS, Failure to approve and construct a central repository for high level radioactive waste has required continued storage of the waste onsite at nuclear reactors, creating vulnerability to terrorism and a risk to national security; Now, therefore, Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Kansas, the Senate concurring therein: That the Legislature of the State of Kansas urges the Government of the United States to take action to enable prompt approval, construction and operation of a high level radioactive waste disposal facility at Yucca Mountain, Nevada; and *Be it further resolved:* That the Secretary of State is directed to send enrolled copies of this resolution to the President of the United States, George W. Bush; Spencer Abraham, Secretary, U.S. Department of Energy, 1000 Independence Ave., S.W., Washington, D.C., 20585; Richard A. Meserve, Chairperson, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Washington, D.C., 20555-0001; Senator Tom Daschle, Majority Leader, U.S. Senate, Washington, D.C., 20510; Senator Trent Lott, Minority Leader, U.S. Senate, Washington, D.C., 20510; Representative J. Dennis Hastert, Speaker, U.S. House of Representatives, Washington, D.C., 20515; Rep-

1

2

3 4 5

6 7

8 9

10

11

12

13 14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22 23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

34 35

36

37

38

39

40

41

42

43

resentative Richard A. Gephardt, Minority Leader, U.S. House of Rep resentatives, Washington, D.C., 20515; Senator Jeff Bingaman, Chair person, Committee on Energy and Natural Resources, U.S. Senate,
Washington, D.C., 20510; Representative W.J. Tauzin, Chairperson,
Committee on Energy and Commerce, U.S. House of Representatives,
Washington, D.C., 20515; and each member of the Kansas Congressional
Delegation.