SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1846

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending Johnson County Community College athletes.

WHEREAS, The Johnson County Community College mens basketball team won the 2001 National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) Division II mens basketball championship by defeating Mott Community College of Flint, Michigan, 91-76 in the championship game; and

WHEREAS, This is the first national championship to be won by the Johnson County Community College Cavaliers. WHEREAS, The team finished the season with a record of 30-6. Chris Lollar was named as a first team All American and Jimmy Hubbard was named as a third team All American--the first time the college has had two players named as All Americans; and

WHEREAS, Of the 13 player roster, seven had a 3.0 grade point average or better for the fall semester and two players are candidates for Academic All American honors; and

WHEREAS, Mike Jeffers, the mens basketball coach, set a school record with 30 wins and was named National Coach of the Year; and

WHEREAS, The womens cross country team won the NJCAA Division II national championship, and the school's first cross country national championship, while competing in gusty winds, blowing snow and wind chills in the lower teens; and

WHEREAS, Michele Simecka, of Topeka, was named as a first team All American for two consecutive years; Erin Conner, of Overland Park, was named as an All American; and Sheena Farnan, of Drexel, Missouri, and Kim Oldaker, of Lenexa, were named second team All Americans; and

WHEREAS. Six of the nine members of the womens cross country team had a 3.0 grade point average or better for the fall semester; and

WHEREAS, The mens cross country team finished third at the national meet; and

WHEREAS, Seth Thompson was named as a second team All American and Tyson Edwards was named as an honorable mention All American; and

WHEREAS, The womens and mens cross country teams won the combined national championship in cross country and Head Coach Mike Bloemker was named as the Coaches Association Coach of the Year: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Johnson County Community College mens basketball team and the womens and mens cross country teams for their success in national competition and for their academic excellence at Johnson County Community College; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to provide an enrolled copy of this resolution to Dr. Charles J. Carlsen, President; Carl Heinrich, Athletic Director; Mike Jeffers, Head Coach, mens basketball team and Mike Bloemker, Head Coach, cross country teams, all at Johnson County Community College, 12345 College Boulevard, Overland Park, Kansas 66210.

Senate Resolution No. 1846 was sponsored by Senator David Adkins.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.