## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1838

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2001 Kansas Master Teachers.

WHEREAS, Seven educators have been selected from 47 of the state's best teachers as Kansas Master Teachers for 2001. The seven will be honored on April 4 at Emporia State University, the sponsor of the program; and

WHEREAS, The 2001 Kansas Master Teachers are Cathy Esquibel, first-grade teacher at Northwest Elementary School, Dodge City; Jeanne Evans, third-grade teacher at Lincoln Elementary School, El Dorado; Betty Lavery, physical education teacher at Stilwell Elementary School, Stilwell; Leona Madden, library media specialist at Lincoln Elementary School, Hays; Margaret McClatchey, chair of theatre arts at Shawnee Mission North High School, Overland Park; Rosemary A. Riordan, art teacher at Sunflower Elementary School, Lenexa; and Jane Sak, technology integration specialist at Blue Valley North High School, Overland Park; and

WHEREAS, Since Emporia State University established the Kansas Master Teacher Awards in 1954, more than 400 educators have been honored. The awards are presented annually to teachers who have "served the profession long and well and who also typify the good qualities of earnest and conscientious teachers"; and

WHEREAS, Local teacher associations, educational organizations and school faculties nominate candidates for the awards. In February, a committee representing educational organizations from across Kansas selected the 2001 winners: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That the Senate congratulates and commends the seven 2001 Kansas Master Teachers for their excellence in their profession and devotion to the children of Kansas; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to send an enrolled copy of this resolution to Cathy Esquibel, Northwest Elementary School, 2100 Sixth, Dodge City, KS 67801; Jeanne Evans, Lincoln Elementary School, 522 Fifth, El Dorado, KS 67042; Betty Lavery, Stilwell Elementary School, 6410 W 199th Street, Stilwell, KS 66085; Leona Madden, Lincoln Elementary School, 1906 Ash, Hays, KS 67601; Margaret McClatchey, Shawnee Mission North High School, 7401 Johnson Drive, Shawnee Mission, KS 66202; Rosemary A. Riordan, Sunflower Elementary School, 8955 Loiret Blvd., Shawnee Mission, KS 66219 and Jane Sak, Blue Valley North High School, 12200 Lamar, Overland Park, KS 66209.

Senate Resolution No. 1838 was sponsored by Senators Barnett, Adkins, Allen, Corbin, Huelskamp, Oleen, Salmans and Vratil.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and

was adopted by that body	
<del></del>	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.