SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1833

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Hutchinson High School boys basketball team and Coach Phil Anderson for winning the 2001 Class 6A State Basketball Championship.

WHEREAS, The Hutchinson High School boys basketball team won the 2001 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 6A State Basketball Championship with a thrilling 59-55 victory over Wichita Southeast High School in the state championship game at Emporia on March 10. A confetti filled celebration erupted at the end of the game. The four-point margin of victory was the team's closest game of the year and only the second time an opponent had gotten within single digits of the "Salt Hawks." Jamaal Norris led in scoring with 25 points. Kyle Mendenhall made two free throws with 24.1 seconds left to break a 55-55 tie and Shawn Jones made two more free throws five seconds later to lift the team to the final 59-55 score; and

WHEREAS, The Hutchinson High School "Salt Hawks" basketball team finished the season with a 25-0 record and was just the fifth school and ninth team to win a Class 6A state title with an unbeaten record; and

WHEREAS, For the 2000-2001 season the team set and accomplished the following team goals:

1. Reno County Classic Champions;

2. McPherson Invitational Tournament Champions;

3. Ark Valley League Champions;

4. 6A Sub-state Tournament Champions;

5. 6A State Tournament Champions;

6. 25-0 Overall Record; and

WHEREAS, Coach Phil Anderson was selected as the Topeka Capital-Journal high school boys basketball coach of the year and Jamaal Norris was selected as a member of the Topeka Capital-Journal's 2001 All-state boys basketball team and other team members received other statewide honors; and

WHEREAS, The team coaches and players are as follows: Head Coach Phil Anderson, Assistant Coach Ron Weber, Assistant Coach Aaron Miller, No. 5 Marques Baugh, No. 10 Hernan Aguilos, No. 23 Brock Wells, No. 24 Blake Briscoe, No. 33 Mike Briscoe, No. 34 DeAngelo Green, No. 42 Kyle Mendenhall, No. 43 Sean Bueford, No. 45 Andrew Marsh, No. 52 Shawn Jones, No. 53 Jamaal Norris and No. 54 Nick Jones; and

WHEREAS, This team is recognized as the 25th Best Boys' Basketball Team by Schoolsports.com, a prep internet site; and

WHEREAS, The members of this outstanding basketball team have received statewide recognition for their fine sportsmanship and athletic abilities; and

WHEREAS, The success of this team is due to its mastery of fundamentals, excellent teamwork, strong competitive spirit and determination to win plus the enthusiastic support of the school's administrators, the faculty, the students, the players' parents and many area citizens: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That the Hutchinson High School boys basketball team and Coach Phil Anderson be congratulated and commended for winning the 2001 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 6A State Basketball Championship; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to send two enrolled copies of this resolution to Mr. Ron Roehm, Principal, Hutchinson High School, 1401 N. Severance, Hutchinson, Kansas 67501.

Senate Resolution No. 1833 was sponsored by Senator Dave Kerr.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.