SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1806

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending Bill Whim.

WHEREAS, Bill Whim, a truck driver for ABF Freight Systems in Kansas City, has been named the 2000 National Truck Driver of the Year by the American Trucking Associations; and

WHEREAS, Bill Whim, who was also named the 2000 Truck Driver of the Year by the Kansas Motor Carriers Association, is the only driver to be given this prestigious national award twice; and

WHEREAS, Bill Whim, who resides in DeSoto, Kansas, with his wife of 44 years, Charlotte, was bestowed this honor for his stellar safety record of five million accident-free miles in 49 years of driving and his dedication to the safety of truck drivers and others on the highways; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Motor Carriers Association is proud to have three national drivers in its membership, Bill Whim in 1978 and 2000; Leroy Likins of Farmland Industries in 1997; and David McDonald of Roadway Express in 1996; and

WHEREAS, Bill Whim attributes his safety record to four rules: Don't speed, don't pass on hills or curves, pay attention to everything going on around you and don't follow too closely: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That Bill Whim be congratulated and commended for being named the 2000 National Truck Driver of the Year and for his 49 years of safe truck driving; and