1

4 5 6 7

8 9 10

11 12 13 14

38 39 40

36

37

41 42

43

Session of 2001

[As Amended by House Committee of the Whole]

Substitute for HOUSE BILL No. 2129

By Representative Huff

2-7

AN ACT concerning certain commissions and councils; relating to the membership thereof; amending K.S.A. 2000 Supp. 74-9201 and 75-7202 and repealing the existing sections.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

Section 1. K.S.A. 2000 Supp. 74-9201 is hereby amended to read as follows: 74-9201. (a) There is hereby established the Kansas film services commission. The commission shall consist of 19 voting members as follows: (1) One member of the senate appointed by the president of the senate; (2) one member of the senate appointed by the minority leader of the senate; (3) one member of the house of representatives appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives; (4) one member of the house of representatives appointed by the minority leader of the house of representatives; and (5) fifteen members appointed by the governor. One of the members appointed by the governor shall be appointed from each tourism region recognized and designated as a tourism region by the secretary of commerce and housing. All members appointed by the governor shall be appointed for terms of three years, except that of the members first appointed, five shall be appointed for one-year terms, five shall be appointed for two-year terms and five shall be appointed for three-year terms. The governor shall designate the term for which each of the members first appointed shall serve. In addition to the voting members of the commission, six members of the commission shall serve ex officio: The secretary of commerce and housing, the secretary of transportation, the secretary of wildlife and parks, the secretary of health and environment, the executive director of the Kansas arts commission and the secretary of the state historical society. Each ex officio member of the commission may designate an officer or employee of the state agency of the ex officio member to serve on the commission in place of the ex officio member. The ex officio members of the commission, or their designees, shall be nonvoting members of the commission and shall provide information and advice to the commission. In addition to the voting and

1 2

ex officio members of the commission, the governor may appoint such number of representatives of the film industry to nonvoting membership on the commission as may be recommended by the secretary of commerce and housing.

- (b) Legislative members shall be appointed for terms coinciding with the terms for which such members are elected. All legislative members and members appointed by the governor shall serve without compensation. All members appointed to fill vacancies in the membership of the commission and all members appointed to succeed members appointed to membership on the commission shall be appointed in like manner as that provided for the original appointment of the member succeeded. All members appointed to fill vacancies of a member of the commission appointed by the governor shall be appointed to fill the unexpired term of such member.
- (c) The members of the commission shall elect annually a chairperson and vice-chairperson for the commission from among its members. The commission shall meet at least four times each year at the call of the chairperson of the commission. Ten voting members of the commission shall constitute a quorum.
- (d) Members of the commission who are not legislators shall receive compensation, subsistence allowances, mileage and other expenses [mileage, tolls and parking] as provided in K.S.A. 75-3223, and amendments thereto, for attendance at any meeting of the commission or any subcommittee meeting authorized by the commission. Legislative members of the commission shall be paid amounts provided in subsection (e) of K.S.A. 75-3223, and amendments thereto, for attendance at any meeting of the commission or any subcommittee meeting authorized by the commission.
- Sec. 2. K.S.A. 2000 Supp. 75-7202 is hereby amended to read as follows: 75-7202. (a) There is hereby established the information technology executive council which shall be attached to the department of administration for purposes of administrative functions.
- (b) The council shall be composed of 17 voting members as follows: The secretary of administration; two cabinet agency heads; one noncabinet agency head; the director of the budget; the executive chief information technology officer; the legislative chief information technology officer; the judicial chief information technology officer and the judicial administrator of the Kansas supreme court; the executive director of the Kansas board of regents; the commissioner of education; one representative of cities; one representative of counties; the network manager of the information network of Kansas (INK); and three representatives from the private sector who are chief executive officers or chief information technology officers. The chief information technology architect shall be

5

a nonvoting member of the council. The two cabinet agency heads, the noncabinet agency head, the representative of cities, the representative of counties and the representatives from the private sector shall be appointed by the governor for a term not to exceed 18 months. Upon expiration of an appointed member's term, the member shall continue to hold office until the appointment of a successor. Nonappointed members shall serve *ex officio*.

- (d) The council shall hold meetings and hearings in the city of Topeka or at such other places as the council designates, on call of the chairperson or on request of four or more members.
- (e) Members of the council may not appoint an individual to represent them on the council and only members of the council may vote.
- (f) Members of the council shall not be eligible for receive [not be eligible for] compensation, subsistence allowances, mileage or and other expenses as provided receive [mileage, tolls and parking as provided] in K.S.A. 75-3223, and amendments thereto, for attendance at any meeting of the council or any subcommittee meeting authorized by the council-except that agencies may pay subsistence, mileage and other expenses to their representatives on the council.
 - Sec. 3. K.S.A. 2000 Supp. 74-9201 and 75-7202 are hereby repealed.
- Sec. 4. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its publication in the Kansas register.