HOUSE RESOLUTION No. 6005

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending Dr. Karen Swisher.

WHEREAS, Dr. Karen Swisher will be inaugurated as President of Haskell Indian Nations University at an official inaugural ceremony which will occur at 10:00 a.m. on February 2, 2001, on the Haskell campus in Lawrence; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Swisher is the first woman to hold this position, and since its inception in 1884, will be the 25th person to serve as the chief administrator of the organization and the fourth person to hold the position of President; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Swisher was born and reared in North Dakota on the Standing Rock Sioux reservation. She received a Bachelor of Science degree in elementary education and Master of Science degree in elementary school administration from Northern State University, Aberdeen, South Dakota. She holds a doctorate in educational administration from the University of North Dakota. Dr. Swisher has higher education experience at Huron College in South Dakota, the University of Utah and Arizona State University. In March 1998, she received the Native American Educator of the Year from the Kansas Association for Native American Education and was named National Indian Educator of the Year by the National Indian Education Association in 1997. Memberships in various organizations include being on the Board of Directors of the Urban Indian Education Research Center, Board of Trustees for the American Indian College Fund and the National Board of Directors of the Girl Scouts of America; and

WHEREAS, Receptions in her honor will continue throughout the week of January 29, 2001. A traditional honor powwow, open to the public, is to be held the evening of February 2, 2001, to conclude the activities of the week: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend Dr. Karen Swisher upon her installation as President of Haskell Indian Nations University.

House Resolution No. 6005 was sponsored by Representatives Troy Findley, Barbara Ballard, Lee Tafanelli, Ralph Tanner and Tom Sloan.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the HOUSE, and was adopted by that body

Speaker of the House.

Chief Clerk of the House.