2020 Kansas Statutes

- **46-3101.** Compensation commission; membership; duties; staff; compensation. (a) There is hereby created the compensation commission, hereinafter referred to as the commission, which shall consist of seven members as follows: One member appointed by the president of the senate, one member appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives, one member appointed by the majority leader of the senate, one member appointed by the minority leader of the senate, one member appointed by the minority leader of the senate, one member appointed by the minority leader of the house of representatives and one member appointed by the governor. No one may be appointed to the commission who is a registered lobbyist, who is a member of the legislature or who has been a member of the legislature within two years previous to the date of appointment to the commission.
- (b) Of the members of the commission first to be appointed, the member appointed by the president of the senate shall be appointed for a term of four years, the member appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives shall be appointed for a term of four years, the member appointed by the majority leader of the senate shall be appointed for a term of two years, the member appointed by the majority leader of the house of representatives shall be appointed for a term of two years, the member appointed by the minority leader of the senate shall be appointed for a term of two years, the member appointed by the minority leader of the house of representatives shall be appointed for a term of two years and the member appointed by the governor shall be appointed for a term of four years, all terms to commence July 1, 1998. Thereafter, all members of the commission shall be appointed for a four-year term, commencing July 1. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointments and for the remainder of the unexpired term.
- (c) The member appointed by the governor shall serve as chairperson of the commission. The commission shall meet on call of the chairperson or on the request of four members of the commission. Four members of the commission shall constitute a quorum. All actions of the commission shall be taken by a majority of all members of the commission.
- (d) It shall be the duty of the commission to make a study of the compensation and expense allowances and reimbursements, hereinafter collectively referred to as remuneration, of the members of the legislature. The commission shall meet during the even-numbered years and shall submit a report to the legislative coordinating council and to the governor on or before December 1 of each even-numbered year making recommendations as the commission deems appropriate concerning such remuneration. If the recommendations of the commission contained in such report require legislation to implement, a bill shall be introduced at the commencement of the next legislative session to carry out such recommendations. If the bill recommends increasing or decreasing such remuneration, the bill to become effective shall be enacted by the legislature on or before February 1 of the odd-numbered year in which the bill is introduced.
- (e) The staff of the office of the revisor of statutes, the legislative research department and the division of legislative administrative services shall provide such assistance as may be requested by the commission and authorized by the legislative coordinating council.
- (f) The members of the commission attending meetings of such commission, or attending a subcommittee meeting thereof authorized by such commission, shall be paid compensation, subsistence allowances, mileage and other expenses as provided in K.S.A. 75-3223, and amendments thereto from appropriations for operations of the legislature upon vouchers approved by the chairperson of the commission or a person or persons designated by the chairperson.

History: L. 1998, ch. 197, § 2; July 1.