## **SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1737**

## A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2017 Hugoton High School girls and Holcomb High School boys basketball teams.

WHEREAS, The Hugoton High School Lady Eagles basketball team won the 2017 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 3A Championship by defeating Cheney High School in the tournament final in Hutchinson on March 11, 2017; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Eagles finished the season with a perfect record of 26 wins and zero losses, and they earned their second state championship within three seasons; and

WHEREAS, Several Lady Eagles earned state and local commendations, including Kathryn Heger, Amy Scott, Dallie Hoskinson, Sydney Hein, JoHanna Rawlins and Melissa Fabela; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Eagles were led by head coach Andy Gillen, who has earned many coach of the year awards, and assistant coaches Jeff Ramsey and Keenan Thompson; and

WHEREAS, Members of the team include: Brooklyn Harper, Dallie Hoskinson, Laney Hoskinson, Sydney Hein, Jacquelynn Armendariz, Amy Scott, JoHanna Rawlins, Melissa Fabela, Britta Beesley, Marisol Don Juan, Kathryn Heger and Rebecca Johnson, and the team managers are Luz Romo and Hanna Coziahr; and

WHEREAS, The Holcomb High School Longhorns boys basketball team won the 2017 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 4A-Division II Championship by defeating Pratt High School 60-45 in the tournament final in Emporia on March 11, 2017; and

WHEREAS, The Longhorns finished the season with a record of 24 wins and only one loss, and they earned their second state championship within three seasons; and

WHEREAS, Several Longhorns earned state and local commendations, including Conner Vancleave, Trey Gilbert, Kobe Dickson and Brandon Stegman; and

WHEREAS, The Longhorns are led by head coach Chad Novack, who earned the Garden City Telegram's All-Area Coach of the Year honor, and assistant coaches Trevor Sapp, Aaron Miller and Trenton Specht; and

WHEREAS, Team members include: Michael Roth, Brandon Stegman, Steven Crain, Devin Mader, Garrett Williams, Trey Gilbert, Carter Blackburn, Caleb Clumsky, Zeke Leyva, Conner Vancleave, Damon Kepley and Kobe Dickson, and the team managers are Paden Cornelsen and Kaden Tichenor: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the 2017 Hugoton High School girls and Holcomb boys basketball teams for winning their respective state championship games. We celebrate with them in this accomplishment and wish them the best of luck in the future; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send 10 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Doll.

Senate Resolution No. 1737 was sponsored by Senator John Doll.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.