HOUSE RESOLUTION No. 6058

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the University of Kansas debate team of Quaram Robinson and Will Katz for winning the National Debate Tournament championship.

WHEREAS, The 72nd National Debate Tournament took place from March 20 through March 27, 2018, at Wichita State University and involved the top 78 debate teams in the country that qualified for the tournament; and

WHEREAS, The University of Kansas debate program, coached by Scott Harris, was one of only six university debate programs to qualify three teams to the National Debate Tournament, including seniors Quaram Robinson and Will Katz, junior Jacob Hegna and freshman Nick Martin, and junior Chris Fry and freshman Nick Massa; and

WHEREAS, Robinson and Katz won the Copeland Award as the topranked debate team in the country based on the regular season going into the National Debate Tournament post-season; and

WHEREAS, Robinson and Katz had an overall record of 6-2 in the preliminary rounds to advance to the elimination rounds, where they defeated the University of Georgia, Northwestern University and the University of Nevada-Las Vegas to reach the Final Four; and

WHEREAS, Robinson and Katz faced off against undefeated Harvard University in the Final Four and beat them 3-2 to advance to the finals, where they defeated Georgetown University 4-3 to win the National Debate Tournament and capture the national title; and

WHEREAS, Robinson and Katz compiled the most successful season in the history of KU debate as they were the first team in the program's history to win both the regular season national championship and National Debate Tournament championship in the same year; and

WHEREAS, Robinson is the most successful individual debater in the history of KU debate, having twice reached the final round of the National Debate Tournament and reaching the elimination rounds of the tournament four times with four separate partners; and

WHEREAS, This was the KU debate team's sixth National Debate Tournament championship, 16th appearance in the Final Four and the 51st consecutive year that a KU debate team has qualified for the National Debate Tournament: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the University of Kansas debate team of Quaram Robinson and Will Katz for winning the National Debate Tournament championship, and that we honor the entire KU debate program and head coach, Scott Harris, for another spectacular season.

and was adopted by that body	
	_

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the HOUSE,

Chief Clerk of the House.

Speaker of the House.