

MainStream Coalition 5960 Dearborn, #213 Mission, KS 66202-9905 (913) 649-3326 mainstreamcoalition.org

Board of Directors

Executive Committee

Carol Marinovich President

Ed Peterson Vice-President

Joy Ginsburg Secretary

David Morantz Treasurer

Sheryl Spalding Past President

Sherrelyn Smith MainPAC Chair

Members

Keith Ashcraft Joe Colantuono Mary Estrada Larry Meeker Bill Musgrave Rev. Aaron Roberts David Smith Mitra Templin Lisa Veglahn John Vratil Holly Weatherford Mark Wiebe

Rev. Bob Meneilly Chairman Emeritus

Brandi Fisher Executive Director

About MainStream

Founded in 1993, the MainStream Coalition is an advocacy group for moderate political views regardless of party. Our members do more than vote.

Testimony to Senate Committee on Federal and State Affairs Chair, Sen. Jacob LaTurner Hearing: Wednesday, February 15, 2017, 10:30 am, Room 144-S

Position – OPPOSE SB 157 and SB 158

Chairman LaTurner, and Members of the Committee,

The MainStream Coalition strongly opposes the measures in SB 157 and SB 158. The bills impose undue and unexpected burdens on local communities and agencies, and harm law and order efforts already in place.

SB 157 requires of the Kansas Highway Patrol that they add additional duties to their portfolio while they are already under pressure from staff and budget cuts by the state. Without additional funding, our highway safety will suffer.

SB 158 would make community policing efforts more difficult for law enforcement. Community involvement is critical in reducing crime. Police departments spend much time in establishing relationships of trust with the people in the community they are sworn to protect and serve. To reduce crime and to solve crime, active engagement of the people is essential. This bill will not help build this atmosphere of trust; it will help eradicate it.

We urge the committee to reject these measures, to trust in our local communities and law enforcement agencies to do their jobs to keep us safe to their best ability. These bills would hamstring those efforts.

Thank you,

Carol Marinovich President of the Board MainStream Coalition