Journal of the Senate

PREORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF SENATE MEMBERS-ELECT

> Senate Chamber, Topeka, Kansas Monday, December 5, 2016, 10:00 a.m.

In accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 46-142, Craig McCullah, Office of the Secretary of State, called the pre-organizational meeting of the 2017 Session of the Kansas Legislature to order.

The roll was called by Mr. McCullah from the list of members-elect as certified by the State Board of Canvassers:

STATE OF KANSAS SECRETARY OF STATE

I, KRIS KOBACH, Secretary of State, do hereby certify that the following persons were elected members of the Senate of the State of Kansas for a four-year term beginning on the second Monday of January, A.D. 2017.

District

1. Dennis D. Pyle
2. Marci Francisco
3. Tom Holland
4. David Haley
5. Steve Fitzgerald
6. Pat Pettey
7. Barbara Bollier
8. Jim Denning
9. Julia Lynn
10. Mary Pilcher-Cook
11. John Skubal
12. Caryn Tyson
13. Jacob LaTurner
14. Bruce Givens
15. Dan Goddard
16. Ty Masterson
17. Jeff Longbine
18. Laura Kelly
19. Anthony Hensley
20. Vicki L. Schmidt

District

21. Dinah H. Sykes
22. Tom Hawk
23. Rob Olson
24. Randall R. Hardy
25. Lynn W. Rogers
26. Dan Kerschen
27. Gene Suellentrop
28. Mike Petersen
29. Oletha Faust-Goudeau
30. Susan Wagle
31. Carolyn McGinn
32. Larry W. Alley
33. Mary Jo Taylor
34. Edward E. Berger
35. Richard Wilborn
36. Elaine S. Bowers
37. Molly Baumgardner
38. Bud Estes
39. John Doll
40. Richard (Rick) Billinger

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto subscribed my name and caused to be affixed my official seal this 1st day of December, A.D. 2016.

KRIS KOBACH Secretary of State ERIC RUCKER Assistant Secretary of State

Forty members-elect were present.

Mr. McCullah appointed Senator Petersen to serve as temporary chairperson of the meeting.

Senator Petersen announced that in accordance with K.S.A. 42-142(b) upon adjournment, the majority and minority parties will caucus and nominate their candidates, respectively, for president and vice-president of the Senate for the next ensuing four years and select respectively, their majority leader, minority leader, and other caucus or party officers.

The location of the Majority Party Caucus will be in the Senate Chamber. The location of the Minority Party Caucus will be in Room 287-N.

There being no further matters to be brought before the meeting for consideration that are necessary or proper to aid the Legislature in performing its functions when they convene on Monday, January 9, 2017, the meeting was adjourned.

COREY CARNAHAN, Secretary of the Senate.

##