Journal of the House

HALL OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES, TOPEKA, KS, Monday, December 5, 2016, 10:00 a.m.

In accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 46-142, those members elected at the General Election, November 8, 2016, convened at 10:00 a.m.

The meeting was called to order by Kris Kobach, Secretary of State, who presented the following certification.

State of Kansas Secretary of State

I, Kris W. Kobach, Secretary of State, do hereby certify that the following persons were elected members of the House of Representatives of the State of Kansas for a two year term beginning on the second Monday of January, A.D. 2017.

District		District	
1^{st}	Michael Houser	26^{th}	Larry L. Campbell
2^{nd}	Adam J. Lusker Sr.	27^{th}	Sean E. Tarwater Sr.
3^{rd}	Monica Murnan	28^{th}	Joy Koesten
4^{th}	Trevor Jacobs	29^{th}	Brett Parker
5^{th}	Kevin Jones	30^{th}	Randy Powell
6^{th}	Jene Vickrey	31^{st}	Louis E. Ruiz
7^{th}	Richard J. Proehl	32^{nd}	Pam Curtis
8^{th}	Patty Markley	33^{rd}	Tom Burroughs
9^{th}	Kent L. Thompson	34^{th}	Valdenia C. Winn
10^{th}	John Wilson	35^{th}	Broderick Henderson
11^{th}	Jim Kelly	36^{th}	Kathy Wolfe Moore
12^{th}	Doug Blex	37^{th}	Stan Frownfelter
13^{th}	Larry P. Hibbard	38^{th}	Willie Dove
14^{th}	Keith Esau	39^{th}	Shelee Brim
15^{th}	Erin L. Davis	40^{th}	Debbie Deere
16^{th}	Cindy Holscher	41^{st}	Jeff Pittman
17^{th}	Tom Cox	42^{nd}	Jim Karleskint
18^{th}	Cindy Neighbor	43^{rd}	Bill Sutton
19^{th}	Stephanie Clayton	44^{th}	Barbara W. Ballard
20^{th}	Jan H. Kessinger	45^{th}	Tom Sloan
21^{st}	Jerry Stogsdill	46^{th}	Dennis "Boog" Highberger
22^{nd}	Nancy Lusk	47^{th}	Ronald B. Ellis
23^{rd}	Linda Gallagher	48^{th}	Marvin Kleeb
24^{th}	Jarrod Ousley	49^{th}	Scott Schwab
25^{th}	Melissa Rooker	50^{th}	Fred C. Patton

District		Diata	int
51 st		Distra	
52 nd	Ron Highland Brenda S. Dietrich	89 th	Elizabeth Bishop KC Ohaebosim
52 rd	Jim Gartner	90 th	Steve Huebert
53 54 th	Ken Corbet	90 91 st	
55 th		91 92 nd	Greg Lakin
56 th	Annie Kuether	92 93 rd	John Carmichael
50 57 th	Virgil Weigel	93 94 th	John Whitmer
	John Alcala	94 95 th	Leo Delperdang
58 th	Vic Miller		Tom Sawyer
59 th	Blaine Finch	96 th	Brandon Whipple
60 th	Mark Schreiber	97 th	Leslie G. Osterman
61 st	Francis Awerkamp	98 th	Steven G. Crum
62 nd	Randy Garber	99 th	Susan Humphries
63 rd	John R. Eplee		Daniel Hawkins
64 th	Susie Swanson		Joe Seiwert
65 th	Lonnie G. Clark	102 nd	Patsy Terrell
66 th	Sydney Carlin		Ponka-We Victors
67^{th}	Tom Phillips		Steven R. Becker
68^{th}	Dave Baker	105^{th}	Brenda Landwehr
69^{th}	J.R. Claeys	106^{th}	Clay Aurand
70^{th}	John E. Barker	107^{th}	Susan L. Concannon
71^{st}	Diana Dierks	108^{th}	Steven Johnson
72^{nd}	Tim Hodge	109^{th}	Troy L. Waymaster
73^{rd}	Les Mason	110^{th}	Ken Rahjes
74^{th}	Don Schroeder	111^{th}	Eber Phelps
75^{th}	Mary Martha Good	112^{th}	Tory M. Arnberger
76^{th}	Eric L. Smith	113^{th}	Greg Lewis
77^{th}	Kristey S. Williams	114^{th}	Jack Thimesch
78^{th}	Ron Ryckman	115^{th}	Boyd Orr
79^{th}	Ed Trimmer	116^{th}	Kyle D. Hoffman
80^{th}	Anita Judd-Jenkins	117^{th}	Leonard A. Mastroni
81^{st}	Blake Carpenter	118^{th}	Don Hineman
82^{nd}	Pete DeGraaf	119 th	Bradley Ralph
83^{rd}	Henry Helgerson	120^{th}	Adam Smith
84 th	Gail Finney	121^{st}	S. Mike Kiegerl
85 th	Chuck Weber	122 nd	J. Russell "Russ" Jennings
86 th	Jim Ward	123 rd	John P. Wheeler Jr.
87 th	Roger A. Elliott	124 th	J. Stephen Alford
57	Tioger II. Emon	125 th	Shannon Francis
		123	Silainion i fancis

In Testimony Whereof, I have hereunto subscribed my name and caused to be affixed my official seal this 1st day of December, A.D. 2016.

Kris W. Kobach Secretary of State Eric Rucker Assistant Secretary of State 124 members-elect were present.

Secretary of State Kris Kobach appointed Member-Elect Proehl to serve as temporary chairperson.

Mr. Proehl announced the meeting would recess until the sound of the gavel for the respective party caucuses.

Mr. Proehl called the meeting to order pursuant to recess.

Majority Party Caucus Chairperson Susan Concannon submitted the following report:

The members-elect of the majority party of the House of Representatives have met and caucused as required by K.S.A. 46-142, and:

- (a) Nominate as their candidate for the following offices for the next ensuing biennium:
 - (1) Speaker of the House of Representatives, Ron Ryckman
 - (2) Speaker Pro Tem of the House of Representatives, Scott Schwab
 - (b) Select the following caucus or party officers:
 - (1) Majority Leader, Don Hineman
 - (2) Assistant Majority Leader, Tom Phillips
 - (3) Majority Whip, Kent Thompson
 - (4) Caucus Chairperson, Susan Concannon

Minority Party Caucus Chairperson Barbara Ballard submitted the following report: The members-elect of the minority party of the House of Representatives have met and caucused as required by K.S.A. 46-142, and have selected the following caucus or party officers.

- (a) Minority Leader, Jim Ward
- (b) Assistant Minority Leader, Stan Frownfelter
- (c) Minority Whip, Ed Trimmer
- (d) Agenda Chairperson, Brandon Whipple
- (e) Caucus Chairperson, Barbara Ballard
- (f) Policy Chairperson, Adam Lusker

On motion of Member-Elect Hineman, the caucus reports were received and ordered entered into the Journal.

Mr. Proehl declared the House adjourned until 2:00 p.m., Monday, January 9, 2017.

BECKIE HENDRICKS, JENNY HAUGH, JULIA WERNER, Journal Clerks.

SUSAN W. KANNARR, Chief Clerk.