Journal of the Senate

SIXTY-SEVENTH DAY

Senate Chamber, Topeka, Kansas Friday, May 12, 2017, 8:00 a.m.

The Senate was called to order by President Susan Wagle.

The roll was called with 26 senators present.

Senators Doll, Fitzgerald, Haley, Hawk, Hilderbrand, Longbine, Lynn, Masterson, Pettey, Pyle, Skubal, Suellentrop, Taylor and Wilborn were excused.

Invocation by Reverend Cecil T. Washington:

Heavenly Father, we're facing the end of another week. There have been times of stress but You've faithfully kept us. You promised in Hebrews 13:5, to never leave us nor forsake us. Therefore, help us as we struggle to reach agreements that will bless Your people.

Then, as we take off for the weekend, give us safe travel. And on this Mother's Day weekend, let the mothers feel honored that the tremendous role they have in our lives and in society is being recognized and appreciated.

Then, once the weekend is over, bring us back renewed, strengthened and ready to be guided by You in fulfilling the legislative process.

Thank You Lord for hearing and answering. In Jesus' Name, Amen.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by President Wagle.

MESSAGE FROM THE HOUSE

The House adopts the Conference Committee Report on **HB 2041**.

CHANGE OF CONFERENCE

President Wagle announced the appointment of Senator Estes as a member of the Conference Committee on **SB 83** to replace Senator LaTurner and also Senator Olson to replace Senator Estes.

REPORT ON ENROLLED BILLS

SB 89 reported correctly enrolled, properly signed and presented to the governor on May 12, 2017.

SR 1745, SR 1746, SR 1747 reported correctly enrolled, properly signed and presented to the Secretary of the Senate on May 12, 2017.

TRIBUTES

The Committee on **Organization, Calendar and Rules** authorizes the following tributes for the week of May 8-12, 2017:

Senator Bowers: commending Robert "Bob" Levin on his service to the National Weather Service and the State of Kansas, congratulating Sharon Schwartz on receiving the Kansas State University's Don L. Good Impact Award, congratulating John Swanson on receiving the media award from the Kansas Basketball Association, congratulating Aundrea Bruna on being elected Kansas FBLA President, congratulating Nancy K. Lane on her induction into Kansas Teachers' Hall of Fame, congratulating Larry Randall on receiving the Kansas Hunter Education Instructor of the Year Award:

Senator McGinn: congratulating Anderson Office Supply on its 125th Anniversary; Senator Schmidt: celebrating Mary Kasiska's 95th Birthday, congratulating Valeo Behavioral Health Care on its 50th Anniversary; and

Senator Tyson: congratulating Dylan J. Fanning on achieving the rank of Eagle Scout, congratulating Thomas J. Nowatzke on achieving the rank of Eagle Scout, congratulating Blake R. Wallis on achieving the rank of Eagle Scout, thanking Colleen Hand for her service as a legislative intern during the 2017 Session, thanking Emily Stanley for her service as a legislative intern during the 2017 Session.

On motion of Senator Denning, the Senate adjourned until 10:00 a.m., Monday, May 15, 2017.

П

CHARLENE BAILEY, CINDY SHEPARD, Journal Clerks.

COREY CARNAHAN, Secretary of the Senate.