Journal of the Senate

FIFTY-EIGHTH DAY

Senate Chamber, Topeka, Kansas Monday, May 1, 2017, 10:00 a.m.

The Senate was called to order by President Susan Wagle.

President Wagle introduced Pastor Joshua Buford, Major, Kansas National Guard, to deliver the invocation:

Lord, we, as a nation, are in great need of Your wisdom, for we face challenges that humanity has struggled with throughout time, and we face challenges that are unique to our time and place in history. Therefore, we want to ask You to bless our governmental leaders, and specifically this morning we want to ask that You will bless President Trump, Governor Brownback, and our State House of Representatives and Senators. Please give us Your wisdom so that we will know the best courses of action to take, and how to best respond to the challenges we face as a nation and state. Lastly, we ask that You will empower us to be a blessing to others: May we love one another, May we help those who are truly in need, May we defend the helpless, And may we strengthen those who are weak. May we be a people of courage and conviction, A people that seek You first, A people who honor You with our actions. It is in Your Name that I pray, Amen

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by President Wagle.

OATH OF OFFICE

President Wagle requested Senator Denning escort Senator Richard Hilderbrand and his wife to the front of the Senate. The President introduced the Honorable Lawton Nuss, Chief Justice, Supreme Court of Kansas, who administered the Oath of Office.

OATH OF OFFICE STATE OF KANSAS, COUNTY OF SHAWNEE, ss:

I do solemnly swear, or affirm, that I will support the Constitution of the United States, and the Constitution of the State of Kansas, and will faithfully discharge the duties of the office of the State Senator of the 13th District. So help me God.

Subscribed and Sworn to, or Affirmed, before me this 1st day of May, 2017.

Lawton Nuss Chief Justice, Kansas Supreme Court The roll was called with 39 senators present. Senator Suellentrop was excused.

MESSAGES FROM THE GOVERNOR

SB 55; Sub SB 74, Sub SB 85 approved on April 07, 2017

Sub Sub SB 95; SB 174, SB 184 approved on April 12, 2017

H Sub SB 13; SB 20, SB 46, SB 50, SB 65 approved on April 18, 2017

H Sub SB 5; SB 124, SB 202 approved on April 21, 2017

H Sub SB 70 approved on April 24, 2017

MESSAGE FROM THE HOUSE

Announcing passage of SB 120, as amended by House Substitute for SB 120.

Announcing passage of SB 202, SB 205, as amended.

The House adopts the Conference Committee report on SB 89; H Sub SB 101.

Announcing adoption of SCR 1608.

INTRODUCTION OF ORIGINAL MOTIONS AND SENATE RESOLUTIONS

Senators Wagle, Denning and Hensley introduced the following Senate resolution, which was read:

SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1740—

A RESOLUTION relating to assignment of seats of the Senate.

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That members of the 2017 regular session of the legislature shall occupy the same seats assigned pursuant to 2017 Senate Resolution No. 1702 with the following exception: Senator Hilderbrand, seat No. 27.

On emergency motion of Senator Denning SR 1740 was adopted unanimously.

ORIGINAL MOTION

Senator Denning moved that subsection 4(k) of the Joint Rules of the Senate and House of Representatives be suspended for the purpose of considering the following bills: H Sub SB 120; SB 205.

CONSIDERATION OF MOTIONS TO CONCUR AND NONCONCUR

On motion of Senator Wilborn the Senate nonconcurred in the House amendments to **H Sub SB 120** and requested a conference committee be appointed.

The President appointed Senators Wilborn, Lynn and Haley as a conference committee on the part of the Senate.

On motion of Senator Longbine the Senate nonconcurred in the House amendments to **SB 205** and requested a conference committee be appointed.

The President appointed Senators Longbine, Billinger and Rogers as a conference committee on the part of the Senate.

CHANGE OF CONFERENCE

President Wagle announced the appointment of Senator Tyson to replace Senator

Longbine, Senator Kerschen to replace Senator Billinger and Senator Holland to replace Senator Rogers as members of the Conference Committee on **HB 2067**.

On motion of Senator Denning, the Senate recessed until 2:00 p.m..

The senate met pursuant to recess with Vice President Longbine in the chair.

CHANGE OF CONFERENCE

Under the authority of the President, the Vice President announced the appointment of Senator Tyson to replace Senator Baumgardner, Senator Kerschen to replace Senator Doll and Senator Holland to replace Senator Hensley as members of the Conference Committee on HB 2212.

REPORT ON ENROLLED BILLS

H Sub SB 13; SB 20, SB 46, SB 50; H Sub SB 51; SB 65; H Sub SB 70; SB 124, SB 202 reported correctly enrolled, properly signed and presented to the Governor on April 14, 2017.

SCR 1608 reported correctly enrolled, properly signed and presented to the Secretary of State on April 14, 2017.

On motion of Senator Denning, the Senate adjourned until 10:00 a.m., Tuesday, May 2, 2017.

CHARLENE BAILEY, CINDY SHEPARD, Journal Clerks.

COREY CARNAHAN, Secretary of the Senate.

П