2016 Kansas Statutes

65-1677. Collaborative drug therapy management advisory committee; purpose and membership. (a) Not later than 90 days after the effective date of this act, the state board of pharmacy and the state board of healing arts shall appoint a seven-member committee to be known as the collaborative drug therapy management advisory committee for the purpose of promoting consistent regulation and to enhance coordination among such boards with jurisdiction over licensees involved in collaborative drug therapy management. Such committee shall advise and make recommendations to the state board of pharmacy and state board of healing arts on matters relating to collaborative drug therapy management.

(b) The collaborative drug therapy management advisory committee shall consist of seven members: (1) One member of the board of pharmacy appointed by the board of pharmacy, who shall serve as the nonvoting chairperson; (2) three licensed pharmacists appointed by the state board of pharmacy, at least two of whom shall have experience in collaborative drug therapy management; and (3) three persons licensed to practice medicine and surgery appointed by the state board of healing arts, at least two of whom shall have experience in collaborative drug therapy management; and (3) three persons licensed to gractice medicine and surgery appointed by the state board of healing arts, at least two of whom shall have experience in collaborative drug therapy management. The state board of pharmacy shall give consideration to any names submitted by the Kansas pharmacists association when making appointments to the committee. The state board of healing arts shall give consideration to any names submitted by the Kansas medical society when making appointments to the committee. Members appointed to the committee shall serve terms of two years, except that of the four members of the committee first appointed to the committee by the state board of pharmacy, two shall be appointed for terms of two years and two shall be appointed to the committee by the state board of pharmacy and that of the three members of the committee first appointed to the committee by the state board of pharmacy and that of the appointed for a term of one year as specified by the state board of healing arts. Members appointed to the committee shall serve without compensation. All expenses of the committee shall be equally divided and paid by the state board of pharmacy and state board of healing arts.

(c) This section shall be part of and supplemental to the pharmacy act of the state of Kansas.

History: L. 2014, ch. 49, § 9; July 1.