SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1770

A RESOLUTION honoring and recognizing Kansans who are Korean War Veterans.

WHEREAS, On June 25, 1950, communist North Korea invaded the Republic of Korea with approximately 135,000 troops, thereby initiating the Korean War; and

WHEREAS, On June 27, 1950, President Harry S. Truman ordered the United States Armed Forces to help the Republic of Korea defend itself against the North Korean invasion; and

WHEREAS, The hostilities ended in a cease-fire, marked by the signing of the armistice at Panmunjom on July 27, 1953; and

WHEREAS, During the Korean War, approximately 1,789,000 members of the United States Armed Forces served in the theater of combat, with 54,246 casualties, of whom 33,739 were battle deaths, more than 103,284 wounded and approximately 8,055 listed as missing in action or prisoners of war; and

WHEREAS, The Korean War is called "The Forgotten War," because it came on the heels of World War II; and

WHEREAS, The invasion from North Korea, planned and executed with Russian support, was intended to ensure communism spread into the Republic of Korea and beyond; and

WHEREAS, The Kansans and other Americans who served in the armed forces during the Korean War were willing to pay the price freedom demanded and pushed back the spread of communism to sustain democracy in Korea; and

WHEREAS, In the 66 years since the outbreak of the Korean War, the Republic of Korea has emerged from a war-torn economy into one of the major economies in the world and one of the largest trading partners and military allies of the United States; and

WHEREAS, There were 435 Kansans who lost their lives in the Korean War. Their names and branch of service are listed on the Korean War Memorial in Overland Park, Kansas; and

WHEREAS, Three Kansas Korean War Veterans were awarded the Congressional Medal of Honor: Stanley Taylor Adams, Army, DeSoto, Kansas; Jack Arden Davenport, USMC, Mission, Kansas; and Father Emil Joseph Kapaun, Army, Pilsen, Kansas; and

WHEREAS, There were only 18,242 Korean War Veterans living in Kansas in September 2014, and it is fitting and just that we honor and bring recognition to our Kansas service members from the Korean War: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That on this 23rd day of February 2016, Kansas Military Appreciation Day, we recognize the historical importance of the Korean War, which began on June 25, 1950 and ended on July 27, 1953, when the armistice was signed; that there were only 18,242 Korean War Veterans in Kansas in 2014, with many passing each year; that we must honor the noble service and sacrifice of these Kansas veterans now, while they are still with us, as well as other veterans of the United States Armed Forces and all veterans from allied countries who served in Korea; that all Americans, in particular Kansans, who served during the Korean War were valuable to the war effort – whether as cooks, tankers, engineers, enlisted personnel or officers – and all deserve our thanks and recognition; and we encourage all Kansans to participate in commemorative activities, pay solemn tribute to and never forget the veterans of the Korean War and their sacrifices, as exemplified by the Kansas Commission on Veterans' Affairs Operation Recognition Program, which grants high school diplomas to Korean War and other veterans who left high school to serve in the armed forces; and we reaffirm this commitment of Kansans from this day forward; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send an enrolled copy of this resolution to Senator Petersen.

Senate Resolution No. 1770 was sponsored by Senators Petersen, Abrams, Arpke, Baumgardner, Bowers, Bruce, Denning, Donovan, Faust-Goudeau, Fitzgerald, Francisco, Haley, Hawk, Hensley, Holland, Holmes, Kelly, Kerschen, King, Knox, LaTurner, Longbine, Love, Lynn, Masterson, McGinn, Melcher, O'Donnell, Olson, Ostmeyer, Pettey, Pilcher-Cook, Powell, Pyle, V. Schmidt, Smith, Tyson, Wagle, Wilborn and Wolf.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.