SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1727

A Resolution recognizing the members of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. for their outstanding service to the citizens of our state, our nation and the international community, and for their promotion of sisterhood, scholarship and service.

WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. is a private, not-for-profit organization whose purpose is to provide assistance and support through established programs in local communities throughout the world. The organization is a sisterhood of predominantly black, college-educated women; and

WHEREAS, On January 13, 2015, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. celebrated 102 years of thoughtful service to and conscientious leadership in communities throughout the United States and the world in diverse fields relating to public service and the organization's five-point programmatic thrust: economic development, educational development, international awareness and involvement, physical and mental health and political awareness and involvement; and

WHEREAS, On January 13, 1913, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was founded at Howard University in the District of Columbia by: Osceola Macarthy Adams, Marguerite Young Alexander, Winona Cargile Alexander, Ethel Cuff Black, Bertha Pitts Campbell, Zephyr Chisom Carter, Edna Brown Coleman, Jessie McGuire Dent, Frederica Chase Dodd, Myra Davis Hemmings, Olive Jones, Jimmie Bugg Middleton, Pauline Oberdorfer Minor, Vashti Turley Murphy, Naomi Sewell Richardson, Mamie Reddy Rose, Eliza Pearl Shippen, Florence Letcher Toms, Ethel Carr Watson, Wertie Blackwell Weaver, Madree Penn White and Edith Motte Young; and

WHEREAS, In March 1913, the founders of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. participated in the Women's Suffrage March in the District of Columbia, the sorority's first public act; and

WHEREAS, Since its founding, more than 200,000 women have joined the organization. Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. has eight chapters within Kansas and 1,000 chapters in the United States, England, Japan, Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas and South Korea: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we recognize the members of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. for their outstanding service to the citizens of our state, our nation and the international community, and for their promotion of sisterhood, scholarship and service; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send an enrolled copy of this resolution to Senator Faust-Goudeau, Senator Haley, Carly Cooper, Daphne Maxwell, Sue Wilson, Barbara Wright, Montika Allen-Atkinson, Trudy Baker, Lula McCray, Tami Farr Smith, Bernice Bullard, Stephanie Bullard-Nurse, Jenya Rhone, Chevelle Wagstaff, Alexis Barnett-Sherrill, Meika Berry, Breada Burkhalter, Donna M. Douglas, Tempie Hurssey, Saundra Jones-Lyons, Barbara Mackey and Emile McGill.

Senate Resolution No. 1727 was sponsored by Senators Oletha Faust-Goudeau and David Haley.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.