- **12-1005k.** Same; election of commissioners. At the first regular odd-numbered year city election following the passage of the proposition submitted or provided in K.S.A. 12-1005h, the commissioners shall be elected as follows:
- (a) If the city has been electing two commissioners every odd-numbered year, one for a four-year term and one for a two-year term, there shall be elected two commissioners for a four-year term and two commissioners for a two-year term. The candidates receiving the largest and second largest number of votes, respectively, shall be elected for the four-year term, and the candidates receiving the third and fourth largest number of votes, respectively, shall be elected for the two-year term. The commissioner then in office whose term has two years to run shall hold office for the remainder of his or her term. At succeeding regular city elections there shall be elected two commissioners for a four-year term and one commissioner for a two-year term. The candidates receiving the largest and second largest number of votes, respectively, shall be elected for a four-year term and the candidate receiving the third largest number of votes shall be elected for the two-year term.
- (b) If the city has been electing one commissioner each year for a three-year term, the term of the commissioner having one year to run shall be extended a year, and there shall be elected two commissioners for a four-year term and one commissioner for a two-year term. The candidates receiving the largest and second largest number of votes respectively shall be elected for the four-year term, and the candidate receiving the third largest number of votes shall be elected for the two-year term. The two commissioners then in office whose terms will run two more years shall hold office for the remainder of their terms. Regular city elections shall thereafter be held every two years in the odd-numbered years on the day prescribed for city elections. At succeeding regular city elections there shall be elected two commissioners for a four-year term and one commissioner for a two-year term. The candidates receiving the largest and second largest number of votes, respectively, shall be elected for the four-year term and the candidate receiving the third largest number of votes shall be elected for the two-year term.

History: L. 1957, ch. 103, § 5; June 29.