**12-1005d.** Cities between **18,000** and **65,000**; election of commissioners; term. Cities under 18,000 population operating under the city-manager act which shall have elected commissioners under the provisions of K.S.A. 12-1004 or 12-1005, and which shall thereafter attain a population of more than 18,000 and not to exceed 65,000 shall be governed by a board of five commissioners, and at the first regular city election after such city attains a population exceeding 18,000 there shall be elected two commissioners for a four-year term and two commissioners for a two-year term.

The candidates receiving the largest and second largest number of votes respectively shall be elected for the four-year term, and the candidates receiving the third and fourth largest number of votes respectively shall be elected for the two-year term. The commissioner then in office whose term has two years to run shall hold office for the remainder of his or her term. At succeeding regular city elections there shall be elected two commissioners for a four-year term and one commissioner for a two-year term. The candidates receiving the largest and second largest number of votes respectively shall be elected for the four-year term and the candidate receiving the third largest number of votes shall be elected for the two-year term.

**History:** L. 1933, ch. 115, § 1; March 23.