Journal of the Senate

PREORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF SENATE MEMBERS-ELECT

Senate Chamber, Topeka, Kansas Monday, December 3, 2012, 10:00 a.m.

In accordance with the provisions of KSA 46-142, Secretary of State Kris Kobach, called the preorganizational meeting of the 2013 session of the Kansas Legislature to order.

The roll was called by Secretary of State Kris Kobach from the list of members-elect as certified by the State Board of Canvassers:

STATE OF KANSAS OFFICE OF SECRETARY OF STATE

I, KRIS KOBACH, Secretary of State, do hereby certify that the following persons were elected members of the Senate of the State of Kansas for a four year term beginning on the second Monday of January, A. D. 2013.

District	District
District	District
1 Dennis D. Pyle	21 Greg A. Smith
2 Marci Francisco	22 Tom Hawk
3 Tom Holland	23 Rob Olson
4 David Haley	24 Tom Arpke
5 Steve Fitzgerald	25 Michael O'Donnell
6 Pat Pettey	26 Dan Kerschen
7 KayWolf	27 Leslie D. "Les" Donovan, Sr.
8 Jim Denning	28 Mike Petersen
9 Julia Lynn	29 Oletha Faust-Goudeau
10 Mary Pilcher-Cook	30 Susan Wagle
11 Jeff Melcher	31 Carolyn McGinn
12 Caryn Tyson	32 Steve E. Abrams
13 Jacob LaTurner	33 Mitch Holmes
14 Forrest J. Knox	34 Terry Bruce
15 Jeff King	35 Jay Scott Emler
16 Ty Masterson	36 Elaine S. Bowers
17 Jeff Longbine	37 Pat Apple
18 Laura Kelly	38 Garrett Love
19 Anthony Hensley	39 Larry R. Powell
20 Vicki L. Schmidt	40 Ralph Ostmeyer

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto subscribed my name and caused to be affixed my official seal this 3rd day of December, A.D. 2012.

Kris Kobach Secretary of State

Thirty-seven members-elect were present.

Secretary of State Kris Kobach requested members-elect complete the Secretary of State's information sheet on their desk and return to the Secretary of the Senate as soon as possible.

Secretary of State Kris Kobach appointed Senator Vicki Schmidt, District 20, to serve as temporary chairperson of the meeting.

Senator Schmidt announced that in accordance with KSA 42-142(b) upon adjournment, the majority and minority parties will caucus and nominate their candidates, respectively, for president and vice-president of the Senate for the next ensuing four years and select respectively, their majority leader, minority leader and other caucus or party officers.

The location of the Majority Party Caucus will be in the Senate Chamber.

The location of the Minority Party Caucus will be in Room 159-S.

Senator Schmidt reminded senators of the orientation for new members at 2:00 p.m. in the House Chamber.

There being no further matters to be brought before the meeting for consideration that are necessary or proper to aid the Legislature in performing its functions when they convene on Monday, January 14, 2013, the meeting was adjourned.

П

HELEN MORELAND, ROSE MARIE GLATT, Journal Clerks.
DIANE MINEAR, Deputy Secretary of the Senate.