Journal of the House

HALL OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES, TOPEKA, KS, Monday, December 3, 2012, 10:00 a.m.

In accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 40-142, those members elected at the General Elections, November 6, 2012, convened at 10:00 a.m.

The meeting was called to order by Eric Rucker, Assistant Secretary of State, who presented the following certification.

State of Kansas Secretary of State

I, Kris W. Kobach, Secretary of State, do hereby certify that the following persons were elected members of the House of Representatives of the State of Kansas for a two year term beginning on the second Monday of January, A.D. 2013.

District	District
1 st – Michael Houser	28 th – Jerry D. Lunn
2 nd – Robert "Bob" Grant	29 th – James Todd
3 rd – Julie Menghini	30 th – Lance Kinzer
4 th – Marty Read	31 st – Louis E. Ruiz
5 th – Kevin Jones	32 nd – Michael J. (Mike) Peterson
6 th – Jene Vickrey	33 rd – Tom Burroughs
7 th – Richard J. Proehl	34 th – Valdenia C. Winn
8 th – Craig McPherson	35 th – Broderick Henderson
9 th – Edwin H. Bideau III	36 th – Kathy Wolfe Moore
10 th – John Wilson	37 th – Stan Frownfelter
11 th – Jim Kelly	38 th – Willie Dove
12 th – Virgil Peck	39 th – Charles Macheers
13 th – Larry Paul Hibbard	40 th – John Bradford
14 th – Keith Esau	41 st – Melanie Meier
15 th – Robert Montgomery	42 nd – Connie O'Brien
16 th – Amanda Grosserode	43 rd – Bill Sutton
17 th – Brett M. Hildabrand	44 th – Barbara W. Ballard
18 th – John Rubin	45 th – Tom Sloan
19 th – Stephanie Clayton	46 th – Paul Davis
20 th – Rob Bruchman	47 th – Ramon C. Gonzalez Jr.
21 st – Barbara Bollier	48 th – Marvin Kleeb
22 nd – Nancy Lusk	49 th – Scott Schwab
23 rd – Kelly R. Meigs	50 th – Joshua Powell
24 th – Emily Perry	51 st – Ron Highland
25 th – Melissa A. Rooker	52 nd – Shanti Gandhi
26 th – Larry L. Campbell	53 rd – Annie Tietze
27 th – Ray Merrick	54 th – Ken Corbet

District 55 th – Annie Kuether 56 th – Virgil Weigel 57 th – John Alcala 58 th – Harold Lane 59 th – Blaine Finch 60 th – Don Hill 61 st – Richard Carlson 62 nd – Randy Garber 63 rd – Jerry Henry 64 th – Vern Swanson 65 th – Allan Rothlisberg 66 th – Sydney Carlin 67 th – Tom Phillips 68 th – Tom J. Moxley 69 th – J.R. Claeys 70 th – John E Barker 71 st – Diana Dierks 72 nd – Marc Rhoades 73 rd – Clark Shultz 74 th – Don Schroeder 75 th – Will Carpenter 76 th – Peggy Mast 77 th – J. David Crum 78 th – Ron Ryckman (Jr.) 79 th – Ed Trimmer 80 th – Kasha Kelley 81 st – Jim Howell 82 nd – Pete DeGraaf 83 rd – Carolyn Bridges 84 th – Gail Finney 85 th – Steve Brunk 86 th – Jim Ward	District 90 th – Steve Huebert 91 st – Gene M. Suellentrop 92 nd – Nile Dillmore 93 rd – George F. (Joe) Edwards II 94 th – Mario Goico 95 th – Tom Sawyer 96 th – Brandon Whipple 97 th – Leslie Osterman 98 th – Phil Hermanson 99 th – Dennis Hedke 100 th – Daniel R. Hawkins 101 st – Joe Seiwert 102 nd – Jan Pauls 103 rd – Ponka-We Victors 104 th – Steven R. Becker 105 th – Mark E. Hutton 106 th – Sharon Schwartz 107 th – Susan L. Concannon 108 th – Steven Johnson 109 th – Troy L. Waymaster 110 th – Travis Couture-Lovelady 111 th – Sue E. Boldra 112 th – John Edmonds 113 th – Marshall Christmann 114 th – Jack Thimesch 115 th – Ronald Ryckman (Sr.) 116 th – Kyle D. Hoffman 117 th – John L. Ewy 118 th – Don Hineman 119 th – Brian A. Weber 120 th – Ward M. Cassidy 12 st – Arlen H. Siegfreid
83 rd – Carolyn Bridges	118 th – Don Hineman
85 th – Steve Brunk	120 th = Ward M. Cassidy
86 th – Jim Ward	120 - waru W. Cassiuy 121st - Arlen H. Siegfreid
87 th – Mark Kahrs	121 – Allen H. Siegheid 122 nd – J. Russell "Russ" Jennings
88 th – Patricia M. Sloop	122 – J. Russell Russ Jennings 123 rd – John Doll
88 - Patricia IVI. S100p	123 – John Doll
89 th – Roderick A. Houston	124 th – J. Stephen Alford 125 th – Reid Petty
	123 – Keid Pelly

In Testimony Whereof, I have hereunto subscribed my name and caused to be affixed my official seal this 3rd day of December, A.D. 2012.

Kris W. Kobach Secretary of State Eric Rucker Assistant Secretary of State

Members-Elect Henderson and Meier were absent.

Assistant Secretary of State Eric Rucker appointed Member-Elect Shultz to serve as temporary chairperson.

Mr. Shultz announced the meeting would recess until the sound of the gavel for the respective party caucuses.Mr. Shultz called the meeting to order pursuant to recess.

Majority Party Caucus Chairperson Kyle Hoffman submitted the following report:

The Members-Elect of the majority party of the House of Representatives have met and caucused as required by K.S. A. 46-142, and:

- (a) Nominate as their candidate for the following offices for the next ensuing biennium:
 - (1) Speaker of the House of Representatives, Ray Merrick
 - (2) Speaker Pro Tem of the House of Representatives, Peggy Mast
 - (b) Select the following caucus or party officers:
 - (1) Majority Leader, Jene Vickrey
 - (2) Assistant Majority Leader, David Crum
 - (3) Majority Whip, Brian Weber
 - (4) Caucus Chairperson, Kyle Hoffman

Assistant Minority Leader Tom Burroughs submitted the following report:

The Members-Elect of the minority party of the House of Representativeshave met and caucused as required by K.S. A. 46-142, and have selected the following caucus or party officers:

- (a) Minority Leader, Paul Davis
- (b) Assistant Minority Leader, Tom Burroughs
- (c) Minority Whip, Julie Menghini
- (d) Agenda Chairperson, Annie Tietze
- (e) Caucus Chairperson, Barbara Ballard
- (f) Policy Chairperson, Valdenia Winn

On motion of Member-Elect Vickrey, the caucus reports were received and ordered entered into the Journal.

On motion of Member-Elect Burroughs, the following preorganizational resolution was adopted.

HOUSE PREORGANIZATIONAL MEETING RESOLUTION

A RESOLUTION concerning seating of members of the House of Representatives during the 2013 regular session of the legislature.

Be it resolved by the Members-Elect of the House of Representatives: Members of the majority party shall occupy all seats on the south side of the center aisle of the house chamber and in addition thereto such seats on the north side of the center aisle of the house chamber as needed. Members of the minority party shall occupy the remaining seats on the north side of the center aisle of the house chamber. The candidate of the majority party for speaker and the minority leader shall prepare seat designations for members of the respective parties.

Mr. Shultz declared the House adjourned until 2:00 p.m., Monday, January 14, 2013.

CHARLENE SWANSON. Journal Clerk.

SUSAN W. KANNARR, Chief Clerk.