2012 Kansas Statutes

74-9902. Same; composition; appointment; term. (a) The advisory commission shall consist of seven members. The membership of the advisory commission shall include: (1) One member appointed by the president of the senate; (2) one member appointed by the minority leader of the senate; (3) one member appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives; (4) one member appointed by the minority leader of the house of representatives; and (5) three members appointed by the governor. The terms of members appointed prior to July 1, 2000, shall expire June 30, 2000.

(b) At the expiration of terms in the year 2000: (1) Members appointed by the president of the senate and the minority leader of the senate shall be appointed for terms of three years; (2) members appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives and the minority leader of the house of representatives shall be appointed for terms of two years; and (3) members appointed by the governor shall be appointed for terms of one year. Thereafter, members shall be appointed for terms of three years and until a successor is appointed and qualified.

(c) No more than four members shall be members of the same political party. Each congressional district in the state of Kansas shall be represented on the advisory commission by at least one member who is a resident of the district at the time of appointment. Appointing authorities shall consult each other to assure effectuation of the foregoing requirement. A person appointed to fill a vacancy which occurs prior to the expiration of a term shall be appointed for the unexpired term. Except as provided by this section, each member of the commission shall be appointed for a three-year term and until a successor is appointed and qualified.

History: L. 1997, ch. 44, § 2; L. 2000, ch. 4, § 1; Feb. 24.