2012 Kansas Statutes

58-20a01. Kansas coordinate system of 1983. The system of plane coordinates which has been established by the national ocean survey/national geodetic survey (formerly the United States coast and geodetic survey) or its successors for defining and stating the geographic positions or locations of points on the surface of the earth within the state of Kansas shall be known as the Kansas coordinate system of 1983.

For the purpose of the use of this system, the state is divided into a north zone and a south zone.

The area now included north of the south line of the following counties shall constitute the north zone: Wallace, Logan, Gove, Trego, Ellis, Russell, Ellsworth, Saline, Dickinson, Morris, Wabaunsee, Shawnee, Douglas and Johnson.

The area now included south of the north line of the following counties shall constitute the south zone: Greeley, Wichita, Scott, Lane, Ness, Rush, Barton, Rice, McPherson, Marion, Chase, Lyon, Osage, Franklin and Miami.

History: L. 1995, ch. 80, § 1; July 1.