2012 Kansas Statutes

46-1101. Legislative post audit committee; membership; quorum; members required for action; officers; meetings; introduction of legislation. There is hereby established the legislative post audit committee which shall consist of five senators and five members of the house of representatives. The five senator members shall be appointed as follows: Three by the president and two by the minority leader. The five representative members shall be appointed as follows: Three by the speaker and two by the minority leader. Each senate member appointed and each representative member appointed shall serve on the legislative post audit committee during such member's current term as a legislator and the officer so appointing shall notify promptly the post auditor and such committee of the appointment. A quorum of the committee shall be six. Except as otherwise specifically provided by law, all actions of the committee may be taken by a majority of those present when there is a quorum. At the commencement of each regular session of the legislature, the legislative post audit committee shall organize by electing a chairperson and a vice-chairperson who are not members of the same house of the legislature. The vice-chairperson shall exercise all of the powers of the chairperson in the absence of the chairperson. The legislative post audit committee may meet at any time, at any place in the state on the call of the chairperson. The committee may introduce such legislation as it deems necessary in performing its duties under the legislative post audit act.

History: L. 1971, ch. 185, § 1; L. 1973, ch. 157, § 8; L. 1974, ch. 220, § 1; L. 1982, ch. 221, § 1; L. 1984, ch. 191, § 1; Feb. 16.