2012 Kansas Statutes

39-1602. Definitions. As used in K.S.A. 39-1601 through 39-1612 and amendments thereto:

- (a) "Targeted population" means the population group designated by rules and regulations of the secretary as most in need of mental health services which are funded, in whole or in part, by state or other public funding sources, which group shall include adults with severe and persistent mental illness, severely emotionally disturbed children and adolescents, and other individuals at risk of requiring institutional care.
- (b) "Community based mental health services" includes, but is not limited to, evaluation and diagnosis, case management services, mental health inpatient and outpatient services, prescription and management of psychotropic medication, prevention, education, consultation, treatment and rehabilitation services, twenty-four-hour emergency services, and any facilities required therefor, which are provided within one or more local communities in order to provide a continuum of care and support services to enable mentally ill persons, including targeted population members, to function outside of inpatient institutions to the extent of their capabilities. Community based mental health services also include assistance in securing employment services, housing services, medical and dental care, and other support services.
- (c) "Mental health center" means any community mental health center organized pursuant to the provisions of K.S.A. 19-4001 to 19-4015, inclusive, and amendments thereto, or mental health clinic organized pursuant to the provisions of K.S.A. 65-211 to 65-215, inclusive, and amendments thereto, and licensed in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-3307b and amendments thereto.
 - (d) "Secretary" means the secretary of social and rehabilitation services.
 - (e) "Department" means the department of social and rehabilitation services.
- (f) "State psychiatric hospital" means Osawatomie state hospital, Rainbow mental health facility, Topeka state hospital or Larned state hospital.
- (g) "Mental health reform phased program" means the program in three phases for the implementation of mental health reform in Kansas as follows:
- (1) The first phase covers the counties in the Osawatomie state hospital catchment area and is to commence on July 1, 1990, and is to be completed by June 30, 1994;
- (2) the second phase covers the counties in the Topeka state hospital catchment area and is to commence on July 1, 1992, and is to be completed by June 30, 1996; and
- (3) the third phase covers the counties in the Larned state hospital catchment area and is to commence on July 1, 1993, and is to be completed by June 30, 1997.
- (h) "Screening" means the process performed by a participating community mental health center, pursuant to a contract entered into with the secretary under K.S.A. 39-1610 and amendments thereto, to determine whether a person, under either voluntary or involuntary procedures, can be evaluated or treated, or can be both evaluated and treated, in the community or should be referred to the appropriate state psychiatric hospital for such treatment or evaluation or for both treatment and evaluation.
- (i) "Osawatomie state hospital catchment area" means, except as otherwise defined by rules and regulations of the secretary adopted pursuant to K.S.A. 39-1613 and amendments thereto, the area composed of the following counties: Allen, Anderson, Atchison, Bourbon, Butler, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Cowley, Crawford, Elk, Franklin, Jefferson, Johnson, Labette, Leavenworth, Linn, Miami, Montgomery, Neosho, Wilson, Woodson and Wyandotte.
- (j) "Topeka state hospital catchment area" means, except as otherwise defined by rules and regulations of the secretary adopted pursuant to K.S.A. 39-1613 and amendments thereto, the area composed of the following counties: Brown, Chase, Clay, Cloud, Coffey, Dickinson, Doniphan, Douglas, Ellsworth, Geary, Greenwood, Harvey, Jackson, Jewell, Lincoln, Lyon, Marion, Marshall, McPherson, Mitchell, Morris, Nemaha, Osage, Ottawa, Pottawatomie, Republic, Riley, Saline, Sedgwick, Shawnee, Wabaunsee and Washington.
- (k) "Larned state hospital catchment area" means, except as otherwise defined by rules and regulations of the secretary adopted pursuant to K.S.A. 39-1613 and amendments thereto, the area composed of the following counties: Barber, Barton, Cheyenne, Clark, Comanche, Decatur, Edwards, Ellis, Finney, Ford, Gove, Graham, Grant, Gray, Greeley, Hamilton, Harper, Haskell, Hodgeman, Kearny, Kingman, Kiowa, Lane, Logan, Meade, Morton, Ness, Norton, Osborne, Pawnee, Phillips, Pratt, Rawlins, Reno, Rice, Rooks, Rush, Russell, Scott, Seward, Sheridan, Sherman, Smith, Stafford, Stanton, Stevens, Sumner, Thomas, Trego, Wallace and Wichita.
- (I) "Catchment area" means the Osawatomie state hospital catchment area, the Topeka state hospital catchment area or the Larned state hospital catchment area.
- (m) "Participating mental health center" means a mental health center which has entered into a contract with the secretary of social and rehabilitation services to provide screening, treatment and evaluation, court ordered evaluation and other treatment services pursuant to the care and treatment act for mentally ill persons, in keeping with the phased concept of the mental health reform act.

History: L. 1990, ch. 92, § 2; L. 1993, ch. 225, § 2; L. 1996, ch. 167, § 51; Apr. 18.