2012 Kansas Statutes

19-28,107. Same; appointment of commissioners; number; qualifications; terms; chairman, officers and employees; votes required for action; compensation and expenses. (a) Any authority created pursuant to K.S.A. 19-28,106 shall be governed by five (5) commissioners appointed by the board. The commissioners of the authority shall be qualified electors of such urban area county and shall hold no elective or appointive position in any other political subdivision of the state of Kansas; and no more than three (3) of whom shall be members of the same political party. Commissioners shall hold office for a term of four (4) years, except that the commissioners first appointed shall hold office as follows: One for a term of two (2) years; two for a term of three (3) years; and two for a term of four (4) years. In making the first appointments the board shall designate the term of office for which each commissioner shall serve. In case of a vacancy, and within thirty (30) days thereof, the board shall appoint a successor of like qualifications to fill the unexpired term. Each commissioner shall hold office until his successor has been appointed and qualified. A commissioner may be removed from office for cause by a majority vote of the board.

(b) The authority shall elect from its number a chairman and may appoint such officers and employees as it may require for the performance of its duties and fix and determine their qualifications, duties and compensation. No action of the authority shall be binding unless a majority of the commissioners appointed to the authority shall vote in favor thereof.

(c) The commissioners shall receive such compensation for their services as the board shall prescribe, and shall be reimbursed by the authority for the actual and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their duties, subject to the approval of the board.

History: L. 1972, ch. 84, § 3; March 13.