2012 Kansas Statutes

- 19-202. Commissioners; residence requirements; term; filling vacancies; charter counties, exceptions. (a) The board of county commissioners of each county shall consist of three, five or seven qualified electors.
- (b) Except as provided in K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 19-204b, and amendments thereto, one county commissioner shall reside in and represent each commissioner district within the county. During the time that any person is a candidate for nomination or election to office as a member of the board of county commissioners and during the term of office of the county commissioner, such candidate or county commissioner shall be and remain a qualified elector who resides in such person's district.
- (c) Except as provided by K.S.A. 19-203, and amendments thereto, terms of office for the board of county commissioners shall be staggered in such a way that no more than a simple majority of commissioners is elected at any general election.
- (d) Except as provided by K.S.A. 19-203, and amendments thereto, all county commissioners shall hold office for a term of four years from the second Monday of January next after their election and until their successors are qualified.
- (e) The provisions of subsections (a), (c) and (d) of this section may be modified by the adoption of a charter for county government in any county which has established a charter commission pursuant to law.

History: R.S. 1923, 19-202; L. 1965, ch. 158, § 1; L. 1976, ch. 121, § 3; L. 1979, ch. 67, § 1; L. 1992, ch. 38, § 2; L. 1993, ch. 250, § 2; L. 2009, ch. 134, § 4; May 28.

Revisor's Note:

Special provision for Sherman County, see 19-204b.