SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1711

A RESOLUTION commemorating the 125th Anniversary of Friends University in Wichita, Kansas.

WHEREAS, Friends University traces its roots to 1885, when the Christian Churches of Kansas voted to establish an institution of higher learning, which was then named Garfield College; and

WHEREAS, Garfield College was named in honor of President James A. Garfield; and

WHEREAS, Garfield College opened its doors in September 1887 and closed in 1892; and

WHEREAS, In 1898, businessman James M. Davis secured the Garfield College building and immediately offered the entire holding to the Kansas Friends, which paved the way to the reopening of the building and school as a Quaker school to be named Friends University; and

WHEREAS, Friends University opened on September 21, 1898, with 53 students and 12 faculty members; and

WHEREAS, In 1901, the first class of graduates was recognized by the university; and

WHEREAS, The university continued to thrive, such that, by 1914, its enrollment population had grown to 450 students; and

WHEREAS, Friends University operated as a Quaker institution until the 1930s, when governance of the school was vested in an independent board of trustees; and

WHEREAS, Friends University continued to operate in a collaborative relationship with the Society of Friends; and

WHEREAS, Friends University continued to reflect on the Quaker founders' vision and values by focusing on offering a transformational education that honors God and places special value on each individual; and

WHEREAS, From its inception, Friends University was one of the first higher education institutions in Kansas to admit women and African American students; and

WHEREAS, Friends University recognized the call to meet the increasing needs of students by offering a new degree completion program in 1985, which catered to adults wishing to complete their bachelor's degree while maintaining their busy lives; and

WHEREAS, In 1986, Friends University further expanded its academic offering by approving two new master's programs; and

WHEREAS, Friends University reaches students across Kansas by hosting classes in Wichita, Hutchinson, Dodge City, Iola and Topeka; and

WHEREAS, Friends University also operates an education center in the Kansas City area and administers online programs; and

WHEREAS, Throughout its history, the University has remained committed to its central core: The arts and sciences; providing a holistic education for every student; and upholding the Respect, Inclusion, Service, Excellence (R.I.S.E.) values in the learning community; and

WHEREAS, Friends University serves more than 2,000 students from over 43 states, two territories and 19 countries; and

WHEREAS, Friends University offers online learning with over 60 areas of study; and WHEREAS, Friends University employs more than 682 Kansans as faculty and staff, who are committed to Friends University's mission to instill in students the values of honoring God and serving others; and

WHEREAS, There are thousands of Friends University graduates serving people all over the world, be it as teachers, executives, doctors, artists, pastors, technology experts and other professions; and

WHEREAS, Friends University is a significant economic benefactor to the State of Kansas, contributing \$76.9 million in economic impact per year and \$5.5 million in state and local tax revenue; and

WHEREAS, Friends University lives its mission, in part, by preparing Kansans to serve the people in this great State: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we commemorate the 125th Anniversary of Friends University in Wichita, Kansas; and

Be it further resolved: That we commend Friends University for educating students and instilling in them the values to honor God and serve others; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send five enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Ware.

Senate Resolution No. 1711 was sponsored by Senator Mary Ware.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.