SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1710

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending outstanding Kansas educators who have been selected for a Milken Educator Award or a Kansas Horizon Award.

WHEREAS, The Milken Educator Awards program, established by the Milken Family Foundation, provides recognition and financial awards to elementary and secondary school teachers, principals and other educational professionals who are furthering excellence in education; and

WHEREAS, Ryan Pfeifer, an educator at Washburn Rural High School in Auburn-Washburn USD 437, was selected as a Kansas recipient of the 2021 Milken Educator Award; and

WHEREAS, Megan Morgan, an educator at Oliver Brown Elementary School in Manhattan-Odgen USD 383, was selected as a Kansas recipient of the 2021 Milken Educator Award; and

WHEREAS, Kristine Becker Yulich, an educator at Logan Elementary School in Seaman USD 345, was selected as the Kansas recipient of the 2022 Milken Educator Award; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Horizon Award program identifies and recognizes exemplary first-year teachers who perform in a way that distinguishes them as outstanding; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Horizon Award program is currently in its 23rd year and is sponsored by the Kansas State Department of Education and Capitol Federal; and

WHEREAS, Thirty-two first-year educators from across the state have been named as Kansas Horizon Award program educators; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Horizon Award program's 2023 recipients, representing elementary and secondary classrooms from Region 1 are: Kaisha Batman, Dodge City High School, Dodge City USD 443; Monica Blanco, Dodge City Middle School, Dodge City USD 443; Derek Davidson, Dwight D. Eisenhower Middle School, Manhattan-Ogden USD 383; Anne Kenworthy, Rock Creek Middle School, Rock Creek USD 323; Sally Lopez, Oliver Brown Elementary School, Manhattan-Ogden USD 383; Ashley Sides, Prairie Hills Middle School, Buhler USD 313; Andrew Thiesen, Garden City High School, Garden City USD 457; and Kinsey Volk, Bickerdyke Elementary School, Russell USD 407; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Horizon Award program's 2023 recipients, representing elementary and secondary classrooms from Region 2 are: Julia Ferguson, Quail Run Elementary School, Lawrence USD 497; Heidi Jo Hayen, Berryton Elementary School, Shawnee Heights USD 450; Madeline Lane, Lansing High School, Lansing USD 469; Emma Lehmann, Neodesha High School, Neodesha USD 461; Hannah Lucas, Humboldt Elementary School, Humboldt USD 258; Megan Maness, French Middle School, Topeka USD 501; DeLaney Russell, Dr. Jerry Hamm Early Learning Center, Coffeyville USD 445; and William Wehrs, Seaman High School, Seaman USD 345; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Horizon Award program's 2023 recipients, representing elementary and secondary classrooms from Region 3 are: Cooper Allison, Woodland Spring Middle School, Spring Hill USD 230; Jordyn Burke, Corinth Elementary School, Shawnee Mission USD 512; Jordan Dillon, Blue Valley High School, Blue Valley USD 229; Lisa Frakes, Turner High School, Turner USD 202; Alexandra Furminger, Oak Grove Elementary School, Turner USD 202; Jennifer Miller, Nike Elementary School, Gardner Edgerton USD 231; Stephanie Ruley, Gardner Edgerton High School, Gardner Edgerton USD 231; and Sydney Sieben, Riverview Elementary School, De Soto USD 232; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Horizon Award program's 2023 recipients, representing elementary and secondary classrooms from Region 4 are: Sue Ake, Gordon Parks Academy, Wichita USD 259; Kassady Griffin, Eisenhower High School, Goddard USD 265; Cody Kirkendoll, Campus High School, Haysville USD 261; Rochell Knight, Derby Middle School, Derby USD 260; Carla McConnell, Sunset Elementary School, Newton USD 373; Aaron Miller, Valley Center Middle School, Valley Center USD 262; Jamie Rhue, El Paso Elementary School, Derby USD 260; and Erin Walter, Norwich Elementary School, Kingman-Norwich USD 331: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend these outstanding educators who were selected for a Milken Educator Award or a Kansas Horizon Award; and

*Be it further resolved: T*hat the Secretary of the Senate shall send one enrolled copy of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education and 36 enrolled copies to the Commissioner of Education to forward to each outstanding educator listed herein.

Senate Resolution No. 1710 was sponsored by Senator Brenda Dietrich.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.