HOUSE RESOLUTION No. 6006

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the members of the 2023 Kansas Teacher of the Year team.

WHEREAS, The Kansas State Department of Education sponsors the Kansas Teacher of the Year program, which identifies, recognizes and utilizes representatives of excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state; and

WHEREAS, The mission of the program is to build and utilize a network of exemplary teachers who are leaders in the improvement of schools, student performance and the teaching profession; and

WHEREAS, Two teachers – one elementary and one secondary – in each of the state's four United States congressional districts were selected as finalists for recognition as Kansas Teacher of the Year, with the recipient being chosen from among the eight finalists; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Teacher of the Year is awarded the Hubbard Foundation Kansas Teacher of the Year Ambassadorship, which enables the person selected to devote significant time during the second semester to activities supporting the mission of the program. The 2023 Kansas Teacher of the Year and the finalists were honored at an awards banquet on September 24, 2022. All members received a cash award as well as mementos of the event; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Teacher of the Year is nominated to represent Kansas in the National Teacher of the Year program, a project of the Council of Chief State School Officers, presented by Voya Financial; and

WHEREAS, The 2023 Kansas Teacher of the Year is Brian Skinner, Newton USD 373; and the regional finalists are: Jessica Gazzano, Spring Hill USD 230; Erica Huggard, Emporia USD 253; Mallory Keefe, Cheney USD 268; Pamela Munoz, Topeka USD 501; Kendal Norberg, Louisburg USD 416; Jaimie Swindler, Ottawa USD 290; Carly Torres, Hutchinson USD 308: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the members of the 2023 Kansas Teacher of the Year team.

House, and was	2		originated	in th	e
-			Speaker of th	e House	
			speamer of m	C 110 MSC.	•
-			Chief Clerk of	the Hous	se.