Find Bill
Find Your Legislator
Legislative Deadlines
Aug. 15, 2022
RSS Feed Permanent URL -A +A

Minutes for HB2567 - Committee on Ways and Means

Short Title

Increasing certain registration and title fees on vehicles for services performed by county treasurers and the division of vehicles and decreasing certain fees related to administrative costs and disposition of such fees.

Minutes Content for Wed, Mar 16, 2022

Chairperson Billinger opened the hearing on HB 2567.  David Wiese, Office of the Revisor of Statutes, provided an overview of the bill and responded to questions from Committee members.  (Attachment 1)

Larry Mah, Shawnee County Treasurer, spoke in support of the bill.  The current fee structure is overly complicated and hasn't been changed since 2013.  They are doing more work with fewer people and revenues are expected to stay the same while expenses are expected to increase.  The current fee structure is not sustainable.  Mr. Mah responded to questions from Committee members.  (Attachment 2)

Nancy Clubine, Montgomery County Treasurer, testified as a proponent of the bill. The fees are not sufficient to cover the costs of running the office.  Her county has to supplement her office from other funds in order to retain the employees they currently have.  This also limits her ability to purchase other items such as computer equipment.  Ms. Clubine responded to questions from Committee members.  (Attachment 3)

Shilo Heger, Riley County Treasurer, spoke as a proponent of the bill.  The State needs to be consistent across the counties to offset the losses they are experiencing.  Some counties are charging a facility fee but many didn't feel it was right to charge this fee to enter a building paid for by tax dollars.  This bill would provide for a flat $10 service fee for most transactions and this would provide consistency for everyone.  Ms. Heger responded to questions from Committee members.  (Attachment 4)

Written only testimony in support of the bill was submitted by:

Christine Swaim, President of the Kansas County Treasurers Association and Clay County Treasurer  (Attachment 5)

Brandi Baily, Sedgwick County Treasurer  (Attachment 6)

Christine Smith, Wallace County Treasurer  (Attachment 7)

Joe Grisolano, Crawford County Treasurer  (Attachment 8)

Tom Franzen, Johnson County Treasurer  (Attachment 9)

Adam Rains, Douglas County Treasurer  (Attachment 10)

Jay Hall, Kansas Association of Counties  (Attachment 11)

There being no further conferees, Chairperson Billinger closed the hearing on HB 2567.

Chairperson Billinger adjourned the meeting at 11:10 am.  The next meeting will be March 17, 2022.